Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Daredevils IPL 2018 match Preview : Happy homecoming for Rajasthan against Delhi

Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Daredevils IPL 2018 match Preview : Happy homecoming for Rajasthan against Delhi
Written by Abhishek Lohia

When two teams–Delhi Daredevils and Rajasthan Royals will face each other on Wednesday at Indian Premier League (IPL), their only goal will be to open the account of victory in the 11th edition of the league. After suffering a two-year ban, Rajasthan, who returned to the league, had to face defeat by nine wickets in their opening match at Sunrisers Hyderabad. The Rajasthan team could score 125 runs on nine wickets after batting first, which Hyderabad chased easily by nine wickets. Apart from Sanju Samson (42 balls, 49 runs), none of the Rajasthan batsmen could perform well. In addition, Captain Ajinkya Rahane scored 13, Rahul Tripathi 17 and Shreyas Gopal scored 18. Rahane said after the match that, “In the first six overs we started well which was important to us. We were close to 50 runs in six overs, but losing wickets in the middle overs got us expensive“.

Host Rajasthan will need to make improvements in all its departments against Delhi because Delhi’s team is much stronger this time. Team’s new captain Gautam Gambhir played a 55-run knock against Kings XI Punjab, but none from the other end did not support him. In this game, Delhi would like to forget his last performance and make a new start against Rajasthan. At the same time, Rajasthan would like to give a gift of victory to its home audience for the first time after two years.

Rajasthan Royals Squad: Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), Ankit Sharma, Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Dhawal Kulkarni, Geoffrey Archer, D Archie Short, Stuart Binny, Shreyas Gopal, S.K. Gemini, Jaydev Unadkat, Ben Laughlin, Prashant Chopra, K. Gautam, Mahipal Lomaroor, Jatin Saxena, Anurit Singh, Aryaman Birla, Jos Buttler, Henrik Klassen, Zaheer Khan and Rahul Tripathi.

Delhi Daredevils Squad: Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Shreyas Iyer, Glenn Maxwell, Amit Mishra, Shahbaz Nadeem, Vijay Shankar, Rahul Tahitia, Mohammad Shami, Gautam Gambhir (Captain), Trent Bolt, Colin Munro, Chris Maurice, Vijay Shankar, Daniel Christian, Jason Rai, Naman Ojha, Prithvi Shaw, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Invesh Khan, Abhishek Sharma, Jayant Yadav, Harshal Patel, Manjot Kalada, Sandeep Lamichane, Sion Ghosh.

Franchise Rajasthan Royals has replaced New Zealand leg-spinner Ish Sodhi in place of injured spinner Zaheer Khan. The franchisee bought Sodhi for his base price of 50 lakh rupees. Sodhi is at number four in the ranking of ICC T-20 bowlers. This is the first IPL season of Sodhi, before that he has not played for any IPL team.

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment