India Sports

IPL 2018: Full Commantery and Updates, Rahul’s fastest half-century beat Delhi Daredevils by 6 wickets

IPL 2018: Full Commantery and Updates, Rahul’s fastest half-century beat Delhi Daredevils by 6 wickets

A new looking Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) under Ravichandran Ashwin is playing against Delhi Daredevils (DD) in their opening encounter of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 in Mohali on Sunday. This season, KXIP is looking a balanced side with Ashwin set for his maiden stint as captain of an IPL team. Kings XI Punjab has won the toss and have opted to field.Gambhir needs one more fifty to equal David Warner’s IPL record of most 50+ scores in the IPL (36). Gambhir’s 4132 runs is the most by anyone in IPL without a hundred. Get live cricket score and live cricket updates of Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) vs Delhi Daredevils (DD) Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 match here. for more updates and schedule, get in touch with us.

4:59 PM IST-Ashwin to Gambhir, 1 run, to mid-off , 36th IPL fifty for Gambhir!

4:57 PM IST- Mohit Sharma to Gambhir, 1 run, to long-off

4:56 PM IST- Mohit Sharma to Pant, 1 run, slower ball

4:55 PM IST- Mohit Sharma to Pant, FOURcrunched away!

4:52 PM IST- Mohit Sharma to Gambhir, 1 run, to long-on

4:52 PM IST- Mohit Sharma to Vijay Shankar, out Caught by Axar!! In the air…..gone! Went miles up in the air Vijay Shankar c Axar b Mohit Sharma 13(13)

4:50 PM IST- Stoinis to Gambhir, 1 run, slow and going away, Gambhir twirls it out to long-on

4:48 PM IST- Stoinis to Gambhir, 1 run, slow back of a length delivery and Gambhir had enough time to rock back and swat that to mid-wicket

4:46 PM IST- Axar to Gambhir, FOURtop-edge through fine leg.

4:45 PM IST- Ashwin to Vijay Shankar, no run

4:42 PM IST- Axar to Shreyas Iyer, out Caught by Rahul!!

4:38 PM IST- Andrew Tye to Shreyas Iyer, no run, slower delivery on a back of a length, Shreyas Iyer stands back and packs a punch into the off-side. End of powerplay: 45/1

4:35 PM IST- Andrew Tye to Gambhir, FOUR, cracks away a pull shot

4:25 PM IST- Mujeeb to Gambhir, FOUR, lovely shot again.

4:22 PM IST- Axar to Gambhir, SIX, wow. Just wow

4:21 PM IST- Axar to Gambhir, FOUR,

4:20 PM IST- Axar to Gambhir, FOUR

4:16 PM IST- Mujeeb to Munro, out Lbw!! There’s that early wicket that Mujeeb is so used to. Takes three balls to take his first wicket in IPL.

4:00 PM IST– Kings XI have lost six opening matches, as have Daredevils, including five in succession since 2013. Overall, Kings XI leads the head-to-head numbers, having won 11 to Daredevils’ 10, and also have 80 percent success rate against their North Indian counterparts in Mohali.

3:57 PM IST– Gautam Gambhir vs Axar Patel: Gambhir has faced 42 deliveries from Axar without getting dismissed but has scored only 36 runs in the process – his SR of 85.71 being the lowest against a spinner (Min 25 balls).

3:55 PM IST– Chris Gayle vs Chris Morris: Gayle has fallen to Morris thrice in 34 balls – the joint most Morris has dismissed any batsman alongside Gambhir and Suresh Raina.

3:50 PM IST-  The challenge is to bring the Indian players and overseas players together. Many of the overseas players have joined us late. I am just trying to balance the different cultures as much as I can.” – Ricky Ponting (Daredevils coach)

3:42 PM IST- Delhi Daredevils’ Amit Mishra is the only bowler to take three hat-tricks in IPL.

3:40 PM IST–  Both Kings XI Punjab and Delhi Daredevils carry a decade-long unwanted baggage of being the underachievers. Though KXIP still has a have a couple of bright spots — they were runners-up in 2014 and losing semi-finalists in the inaugural edition —, DD is yet to progress beyond the semi-finals.

3;35 PM IST– For DD, there can be a little selection headache as Finch’s best man, Glenn Maxwell, will also miss the match and, after Gautam Gambhir, the onus will be on Chris Morris, Colin Munro and Jason Roy to shoulder more responsibility.

Pitch report: As always, the Mohali pitch will be nice and flat. And with heat baking it down, expect it to be hard, meaning it’ll enable strokeplay. Watch out for the dew later. It’s warm out there, so expect some tonight.

Kings XI Punjab (Playing XI): Lokesh Rahul(w), Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Yuvraj Singh, David Miller, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin(c), Andrew Tye, Mohit Sharma, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Delhi Daredevils (Playing XI): Gautam Gambhir(c), Colin Munro, Rishabh Pant(w), Shreyas Iyer, Chris Morris, Vijay Shankar, Daniel Christian, Rahul Tewatia, Amit Mishra, Trent Boult, Mohammed Shami

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment