Sports World

FIFA World Cup 2018; England announced 23-men squad for Russia

FIFA World Cup 2018; England announced 23-men squad for Russia

England Football team manager Gareth Southgate announced of the 23-man squad he is taking to Russia for the Fifa World Cup this lunchtime. Already, players such as Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain have had to withdraw due to injury, while it has emerged that veteran keeper Joe Hart, who has 75 caps, has been dropped due to a collapse in form. Also receiving an early summer holiday is the injury-prone Arsenal midfielder Jack Wilshere. According to FIFA rules, managers had to announce their provisional 30-man squad by May 14 with the final 23 confirmed by June 4.

England is not the only team announcing their selections, this week with a number of countries taking the plunge in recent days. Uruguay – with Luis Suarez – and Sweden – minus Zlatan Ibrahimovic – are the latest to officially announced their preliminary squads. England has warm-up friendlies against Nigeria at Wembley on June 2 and Costa Rica in Leeds on June 7, ahead of the Group G opener against Tunisia on June 18.

19-year-old Uncapped Liverpool defender Trent Alexander-Arnold has been named in England’s 23-man England squad for this 2018 FIFA World Cup. Experienced Defender Gary Cahill has also been recalled, and there is also space on the plane to Russia for Burnley goalkeeper Nick Pope and Chelsea team-mate Ruben Loftus-Cheek. Goalkeeper Joe Hart and midfielder Jack Wilshere have not been included, along with left-back Ryan Bertrand. England will start their Group G campaign against Tunisia on 18 June, before games against Panama and Belgium.

Goalkeepers: Jack Butland (Stoke), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley).

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Fabian Delph (Manchester City), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Harry Maguire (Leicester), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham Hotspur), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Ashley Young (Manchester United).

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea).

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Jamie Vardy (Leicester), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal).

Standby: Lewis Cook (Bournemouth), Tom Heaton (Burnley), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), Jake Livermore (West Brom), James Tarkowski (Burnley).

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment