India Politics

Kairana-Noorpur bypolls 2018; AAP gives support to RLD-SP Candidate

Kairana-Noorpur bypolls 2018; AAP gives support to RLD-SP Candidate
Written by Abhishek Lohia

The bypolls to Uttar Pradesh’s Kairana Lok Sabha seat and Noorpur Assembly seat will take place on May 28, 2018. Before this, Delhi ruling party AAP on Tuesday announced it will support the RashtLoka lok Dal (RlD) candidate in the Kairana bypoll and the Samajwadi Party (SP) candidate in Noorpur assembly constituency. The results of both these seats will be declared on May 31, 2018. The by-elections to both the seats are important for the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as well for oppositions. Earlier in March 2018, ruling BJP had experienced defeats in the bypolls held in CM’s and Dept. CM’s constituency Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats after two opposition parties of UP; BSP and SP allianced together and joined their hands to defeat BJP. Campaigning for both seats is in full motion and security arrangements have been made by authorities for maintaining law and order in state and cities.

Aam Aadmi Party national spokesman and Rajya Sabha member Sanjay Singh told during a media conference, that his party had decided to throw its lot behind the opposition so as to defeat the BJP candidate as its divisive politics needed to be defeated. former CM Akhilesh Yadav praised the Sanjay Singh’s decision and posted a tweet on his official Twitter account.

“We have decided that there has to be solidarity amongst the opposition parties on these two seats and hence this decision,” said Singh, who also is the in-charge of UP affairs.

Former MP and RLD Leader Jayant Chaudhary thanked the support of Aam Aadmi Party leader Sanjay Singh, said,”We welcomes the decision of AAP, it will strengthen the Farmer politics in India”.

However APP has not have a great track record in the state, its decision is being seen as a boost to the opposition unity. The Congress, BSP and the Nishad Party have already thrown their lot behind the SP and RlD candidates in the upcoming by-polls. Now, It will be interesting to see that how the AAP supporters react to the party standing together with SP, Congress, and BSP, at the beginning of the AAP’s journey, all of whom its president Arvind Kejriwal had dubbed as corrupt parties

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment