India Politics

Congress backs in Karnataka Election as siddaramaiah offers support to JD(S)

Congress backs in Karnataka Election as siddaramaiah offers support to JD(S)
Written by Abhishek Lohia

The Karnataka Assembly election 2018 result is close to being known as vote counting is underway on Tuesday, with Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s rally blitz in the state poised to pay off. According to official Election Commission figures as of 14:17 pm, the BJP is leading in 70 seats and had won 36 seats, while the Congress was leading in 65 seats and had won nine, the Janata Dal (Secular) was leading in 35 seats and had won four, the Karnataka Pragnyavantha Janatha Party had won one seat, the Bahujan Samaj Party was leading in one seat, and the independents were leading in one seat.

Congress’s top leaders confirmed that the offer has already been communicated to the JD(S) and they have accepted it. Senior leaders of the party are heading to meet the JD(S) chief H W Deve Gowda. On Tuesday morning, HD Kumaraswamy, who had just arrived from Singapore left to the Adichunchanagiri Mahasamsthana Mutt in Mandya along with his wife to offer prayers. A win for the Congress would boost the party’s morale for the upcoming Assembly elections in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, and Mizoram in November-December 2018. For the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, It would also ensure that the party would not be reduced to ruling only one big state, that of Punjab, in the entire country.

JD(S) has dominated the constituencies that are most impacted by the Cauvery dispute, with leads+wins adding to 28. BJP’s R Ashoka has won from Padmanaba Nagar constituency. BJP’s chief minister candidate BS Yeddyurappa has won from his constituency Shikaripura. After this, BJP president Amit Shah rushes Union minister Prakash Javdekar, JP Nadda, Dharmendra Pradhan to Bengaluru to ensure govt formation in the state. While India’s second largest party Congress, call all of their MLAs to Bengaluru along with JD(S). The two parties have also claimed the support of two Independent candidates as well.

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment