India Politics

Assembly Bypolls Result 2018; Full List of Winners State Wise

Assembly Bypolls Result 2018; Full List of Winners State Wise
Written by Abhishek Lohia

In 2018, Ruling Bhartiya Janata Party have been facing several defeats as many as more than 6 Lok Sabha seats and 14+ Assembly states across 10 states. In 2018 Assembly Bypolls, BJP has been lost in the 9 Assembly seats in 8 different States. However, BJP retained the Tharali assembly seat in Uttarakhand and save their prestige in this contest. The polling was held on Monday in Legislative Assemblies of Shahkot (Punjab), Chengannur (Kerala), Jokihat (Bihar), Tharali (Uttarakhand), Gomia and Silli (Jharkhand), Ampati (Meghalaya), Palus Kadegaon (Maharashtra), Maheshtala (West Bengal), Noorpur (Uttar Pradesh), and Rajarajeshwari Nagar (Karnataka). Here is the Full List of winners State Wise.

Noorpur: The Samajwadi Party won the Noorpur Assembly bypoll by 6,211 votes. SP candidate Naeemul Hasan won this seat with the support of the Congress, the Samajwadi Party, the Bahujan Samaj Party, and the Aam Aadmi Party. His closest Rivarly was BJP’s, Avni Singh.

RR Nagar: In, RR Nagar seat, Congress has won this seat in Karnataka. Congress candidate Muniratna won with a margin of 41,000 votes over BJP supported Tulsi Muniraju Gowda. Polling for the seat was postponed by the EC ahead of the Karnataka elections(10000 Fake-ID cards found near the constituency)


Constituency Wins/Leads Held by
Noorpur (Uttar Pradesh) SP BJP
Shahkot (Punjab) Congress SAD
Jokihat (Bihar) RJD JD(U)
Gomia (Jharkhand) JMM JMM
Silli (Jharkhand) JMM JMM
Chengannur (Kerala) CPI(M) CPI(M)
Palus Kadegaon (Maharashtra) Congress Congress
Ampati (Meghalaya) Congress Congress
Tharali (Uttarakhand) BJP BJP
Maheshtala (West Bengal) TMC TMC

Shahkot: Congress candidate Hardev Singh Ladi won the Shahkot assembly bypoll by defeating his closest Rival Akali Dal’s nominee Naib Singh Kohar of over 38,000 votes margin. In this seat, AAP candidate Rattan Singh Kakkar Kalan came at No.3, behind the Congress and the Akali Dal. Previously this seat was held by SAD.

Tharali:  BJP’s Munni Devi Shah defeated Congress’ Jeetram by over 1,900 votes and retained their seat. After this victory, the number of BJP MLAs in the 70-member Uttarakhand assembly has been touched the feet of 57 once again.

Silli and Gomia: Before this by-polls, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) was leading on this seat and this time they retained both Silli and Gomia seats in Jharkhand. JMM’s candidate Babita Devi defeated AJSU nominee Lambodar Mahto by 13,00 votes. While in Silli, JMM’s Seema Mahto defeated AJSU chief Sudesh Mahto by 13,000 votes.

Jokihat: RJD candidate Shahnawaz Alam won the Jokihat Assembly seat in Bihar by defeating JD(U)’s Murshid Alam with a margin of over 4,000 votes. After this, RJD leader and former deputy CM Tejashwi Yadav slams the Bihar CM Nitish Kumar.

Palus Kadegaon: In Maharashtra’s Palus Kadegaon Assembly constituency, Congress’ Vishwajeet Patangrao Kadam unopposed elected as MLA, after BJP withdrew its candidate Sangramsingh Deshmukh.

Ampati: Congress has also secured Meghalaya’s Ampati Assembly seat. Miani D Shira won the seat by a margin of 3191 votes and made the Congress the single largest party in the state. NPP’s Clement G Moin claimed 11,069 votes against Miani’s 14,259 votes.

Chengannur: With a huge margin of over 20,000 votes, CPI(M)-led LDF’s Saji Cheriyan secured a win in Kerala’s Chengannur Assembly seat against Congress and BJP. Cheriyan got 67,303 votes while the Congress-led UDF candidate D Vijaykumar got 46,347 votes and BJP’s P Sreedharan Pillai got 35,270 votes.


About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment