India Politics

2018 Jharkhand Municipal Elections Results: List of Elected Mayors, Deputy Mayors, BJP swept in all five local bodies

After a victorious performence in Uttar Pradesh Nagar Nigam Elections, Bhartiya Janata Party now swept the Jharkhand Municipal Corporation Elections 2018 winning Mayoral and Deputy Mayoral posts in all five local bodies. The BJP won Mayor and Deputy Mayor posts in Hazaribagh, Adityapur, Giridih, Ranchi and Modinagar Municipal Corporation. For Highlights and updates on Jharkhand Nagar Nigam Elections 2018 Results here. According to Jharkhand State Election Commission, 278 candidates were in the fray for 34 Mayor and chairman seats,  320 for Deputy Mayor and Vice-chairman, 122 for Mayoral and Presidential posts and 23 candidates for Deputy Mayor and Vice President posts. Along with 5 Nagar Nigams, voting took place for 16 Municipal Councils (Nagar Parishad) and 13 Nagar Panchayats.

2018 Jharkhand Municipal Elections Results

Local Body Mayor (Party) Deputy Mayor (Party)
Adityapur Nagar Nigam Vinod Srivastava (BJP) Amit Singh (BJP)
Hazaribagh Nagar Nigam  Roshni Tirki (BJP)  Rajkumar Lal (BJP)
Giridih Nagar Nigam  Sunil Paswan (BJP)  Prakash Ram (BJP)
Modinagar Nagar Nigam  Aruna Shankar (BJP)  Rakesh Kumar (BJP)
Ranchi Nagar Nigam  Asha Lakra (BJP)  Sanjeev Vijayavargiya (BJP)

In Ranchi, BJP was caught in a tight battle with the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha for the mayoral post. JMM’s Varsha Garhi was leading in the starting three rounds of counting even as Asha Lakra of BJP took over later. Asha Lakra wins this election by more than 39,000 votes. In Adityapur too, the JMM gave a fierce fight to the BJP but ended up second on both the Mahapaur and Up Mahapaur posts.

A total voter turnout of 65.15 percent was recorded in the Jharkhand Civic Polls. Overall, Ranchi Municipal Corporation, which is the state’s largest urban local body, recorded the lowest turnout of 49.3 percent. BJP has one 20 Mayor/Chairman posts and 16 Deputy posts in Jharkhand Municipal Elections and By-elections that were held for 34 and four local bodies respectively.

The Nagar Nigams that went to polls were:

  • Modinagar Nagar Nigam
  • Hazaribagh Nagar Nigam
  • Giridih Nagar Nigam
  • Ranchi Nagar Nigam
  • Adityapur Nagar Nigam

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment