PV Sindhu vs Saina Nehwal at Commonwealth Games 2018 Badminton Final

PV Sindhu vs Saina Nehwal at Commonwealth Games 2018 Badminton Final
Written by Abhishek Lohia

After a sensational victory over Canada’s Michelle Li, PV Sindhu has been qualified for the 2018 CWG games Badminton Finals event. And now, 2016 Rio Olympic medalist Sindhu will face Former World No 1 and India’s most popular shuttler Saina Nehwal, who seized her final place by victory over Canada’s Kirsty Gilmour. Now it will be a great clash for Indian fans when these two most popular Indian shuttlers will present their challenge against each other. PV Sindhu defeated her Canadian opponent with a 21-8, 21-13 scoreline and advanced herself in the finals. While Saina Nehwal took three matches, before defeating Kirsty by 21-14, 18-21, 21-17. Indian Shuttler and Recently World No1 Kidambi Srikanth was also succeeded to book his birth in the finals against Malaysia’s Lee Chong Wei.

Nehwal, who had clinched the gold medal in Delhi Commonwealth Games, missed the 2014 Games due to the ankle injury, staved off a challenge from Scotland’s Kristy Gilmour, who was a silver medallist at Glasgow Commonwealth Games. Nehwal won this game by 21-14 18-21 21-17 in 68 minutes. Champion Sindhu secured a 21-18, 21-8 victory in a dominant way and proved her masterclass performance against Canadian shuttler.

In another Badminton event, Indian Men’s doubles pairing of Chirag Shetty and Satwik Rankireddy has also qualified for the finals with a win over Sri Lankan pair while H.S Prannoy loses the Men’s Singles semi-final against Lee Chong Wei by 16-21, 21-9, 14-21. Indian mix-pair of S Rankireddy and Ashwini Ponappa have also won their first game in the mixed-doubles semi-final against England’s Lauren Smith and Marcus Ellis; if they qualify for the finals, one more silver medal will be assured by Indian Shuttler. Rivarly between Saina-Sindhu means that the gold medal match will be played between these two Indian shuttlers. The winner will get the gold, and the loser will get the silver. In this way, it is decided to meet both the medal winners of the women’s singles category.

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment