ICC World Cup Qualifier 2018, Big chance for Afganistan

ICC World Cup Qualifier 2018, Big chance for Afganistan

ICC World Cup qualifier has been started from today 4 March, in Zimbabwe. There are total ten nations, which are participating in this qualifier. The winner of this qualifier will get a chance to play in the ICC World Cup 2019. From West Indies point of view, this is an important tournament for them, because this is the first time in cricket history when West Indies did not qualify for ICC World Cup 2019. Currently, West Indies is on the No-9 position of ODI rankings, and Young Afganistan is one step away from them by standing No-10 Position on ODI Rankings. This qualifier will decide that, who will be going to play ICC World Cup 2019.

Total 34 matches will be played between these ten nations (Zimbabwe, West Indies, Ireland, Afganistan, Papua New Guinea, Netherlands, Scotland, Nepal, Hong Kong and UAE). The tournament will take place on Zimbabwe from 4 March to 25 March. Afganistan is the second favorite team of this tournament; they have Rashid Khan(as a spinner), Muhammad Nabi(As a fast bowler), Mohammad Shahzad(As a batsman) and some other players. Teams are divided into two groups, where West Indies, Ireland, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, are UAE are Group A, while the Zimbabwe, Nepal, Afganistan, Scotland, and Hongkong in Group B.

West Indies Squad: Jason Holder(c), Jason Mohammed, Devendra Bishoo, Carlos Brathwaite, Sheldon Cottrell, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Evin Lewis, Nikita Miller, Ashley Nurse, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Kesrick Williams

Zimbabwe Squad: Graeme Cremer(c), Tendai Chatara, Cephas Zhuwawo, Tendai Chisoro, Craig Ervine, Kyle Jarvis, Hamilton Masakadza, Solomon Mire, Peter Moor, Sean Williams, Blessing Muzarabani, Sikandar Raza, Brendan Taylor, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller

Afganistan Squad: Asghar Stanikzai(c), Mohammad Shahzad, Javed Ahmadi, Ihsanullah Janat, Najibullah Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Samiullah Shenwari, Nasir Jamal, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Zadran, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Dawlat Zadran, Shapoor Zadran

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment