All England Open Badminton Championship, Action starts on 14 March

All England Open Badminton Championship, Action starts on 14 March

All England Open Badminton Championship tournament is the world’s oldest tournament in Badminton History and this time event will take place at Arena Birmingham in England from 14 to 18 March 2018. The total amount purse for this tournament $1,000,000 and it will be ended on March 18. World Badminton Federation in 1898 organised the first edition of this tournament. This is the seventh tournament of 2018 BWF World Tour just after Indian Open Super Series 2018. All England Badminton Tournament is an annual event which is organised by Badminton England. The winner of this tournament will get $70000 as prize money for this tournament.

The top seeds from every nation will compete in this championship, and the event will be played in two sections–Top Half and Bottom Half. Total 140 matches will be played in five different categories of(Men’s Singles, Women’s Singles, Mix Doubles, Women’s Doubles, Men’s Doubles) and it will take five days for completing. Indian top seed and Olympic Medalist PV Sindhu will start his journey on 15th March, by playing against P Chochuwong at the bottom half. For men’s singles event, K.Srikanth, Sai Praneeth and Prannoy will present their challenge in this tournament. For women’s doubles event, A.Ponappa and NS reddy will start the Indian shuttling attack.

Former Legendary player Prakash Padukone was the first Indian to win this event, In 1980 he defeated Denmark’s top-seed Lene Koppen and became the first Indian ever to win this prestigious tournament. After him, Legendary coach Pullela Gopichand Wins this event in 2001 and levels the record. In the first round of this tournament, 2015 runner-up Saina Nehwal will meet World No.1 Tai Tzu Ying while his partner, Olympic Medalist and World No. 4 PV Sindhu Sindhu, will take on a relatively easy opponent as Thailand’s Pornpawee Chochuwong. India’s top male shuttler K. Srikanth will face Frenchman Brice Leverdez in the opening round. However, compatriots B. Sai Praneeth and H. S. Prannoy will face tougher opponents as Korean Son Wan and Chou Tien Chen.


About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment