India Politics

West Bengal Panchayat Elections 2018: All you need to know

West Bengal Panchayat Elections 2018: All you need to know
Written by Abhishek Lohia

The Panchayat elections going to be held in West Bengal are very important for the ruling Trinamool Congress in the state. The Trinamool leadership believes that if the party performs well in the Panchayat elections, it will increase its chances of showing strong performance in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. According to TMC, the party’s objective of playing a big role at the national level can be fulfilled only when it is able to occupy a maximum of 42 Lok Sabha seats in West Bengal.

About 40 out of the 42 Lok Sabha seats in the state are in semi-urban areas governed by the villages and panchayats, so the senior leaders of Trinamool believes that placing full control over Panchayats is important for political parties so that in next Lok Sabha elections in the next year They can perform well from their rivals.

Previously, The Calcutta High Court has banned the Panchayat elections in West Bengal till April 16. The court has asked the Election Commission to present all reports to the court. Directing the Commission, the court said that by April 16, all the procedures related to the elections will be stopped so far from the withdrawal of the nomination to the Withdrawl. The BJP on March 6, while applying for the court, said that democracy is being killed in West Bengal because the ruling Trinamool Congress is doing massive electoral violence and is also beaten up with other party candidates. Not only this, the candidates of the opposition are not allowed to file their nomination panchayat polls.

The BJP also alleged that the Assistant Panchayat Election Registration Officer appointed by the West Bengal Election Commission is refusing to give the form of the form to the BJP candidates. The West Bengal BJP demanded that the nomination papers be made available online.

Story Till 16th April 

In Birbhum district council, 41 candidates out of 42 seats have been elected unopposed for Trinamool Congress candidates. In Birbhum Panchayat Samiti, the candidates of the present government have been declared as winners in 14 of the 19 seats. Votes will be cast in West Bengal on May 1, May 3 and May 5, while the results will be announced on May 8. At the same time, 29 candidates from the 30 seats of Kandi in Murshidabad have been elected uncontested. While all 21 seats in Bharatpur 2, Trinamool Congress candidates have been declared victorious without any opposition. Something like this is similar to Barwan’s 37 Panchayat Samiti seat.

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment