Uttar Pradesh By-Elections 2018 Results

Uttar Pradesh By-Elections 2018 Results
Written by Abhishek Rana

The results for By-Elections in Uttar Pradesh’s Gorakhpur and Phulpur and Bihar’s Araria have been trickling out since the morning. According to the Election commission, people can expect the results to be released by Thursday. The polling, which took place  on Sunday, had an average public turnout, with 47.45 per cent in Gorakhpur and 37.39 per cent in Phulpur. The polls were held because Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister, Yogi Adityanath and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya, had to leave their seats in Lok Sabha after the state legislative council. The contest is between BJP, Samajwadi Party, which has the support of BSP, and Congress.

As of now, the third round of counting in Phulpur, Samajwadi Party’s Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel is leading by 1437 votes. He has achieved 7,600 votes, while BJP’s Kaushlendra Singh Patel has gotten 6,163 votes. Among those contest from elections are, Kaushalendra Singh Patel from Phulpur and Upendra Dutt Shukla from Gorakhpur, who hail from BJP, while SP party has Pravin Nishad from Gorakhpur and Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel from Phulpur. The candidates for Congress are Sureetha Kareem for Gorakhpur and Manish Mishra from Phulpur.

To win the elections for a seat in the Rajya Sabha elections, a candidate must get 37 first preference votes. But, as usual, doubts have been spread about the legitimacy of the voting through EVM machines, as Praveen Kumar Nishad, the SP party candidate has said that even though he’s confident of his victory, he doesn’t trust the government to  be entirely honest.

About the author

Abhishek Rana

Since my early childhood, I’ve loved writing, watching movies and having an opinion. Now, I do it professionally. Always looking for new ways to challenge myself.

Leave a Comment