Shri Ram Nath Kovind has been elected the 14th President of India by the lawmakers all across the country on Thursday and Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated NDA’s candidate Shri Ram Nath Kovind on this occasion on Twitter. “Congratulations to Shri Ram Nath Kovind Ji on being elected the President of India! Best wishes for a fruitful & inspiring tenure,” PM Modi wrote on his twitter account.

PM Modi also congratulated the opposition’s candidate for her campaign, “I also congratulate Meira Kumar Ji for her campaign, which was in spirit of the democratic ethos & values we all are proud of,” he said

BJP President Amit Shah too congratulated Ram Nath Kovind on his twitter account and dubbed his victory “truly historic”.

“Congratulations to Shri Ram Nath Kovind ji for the emphatic victory in the 2017 Presidential elections. His victory is truly historic. I am sure Shri Ram Nath Kovind ji will distinguish himself as an exceptional President of our nation. The election of Shri Ram Nath Kovind ji is a victory for the poor, downtrodden & marginalised and their aspirations. I thank BJP members, NDA family, other valued parties and leaders who supported Shri Ram Nath Kovind ji,” Shah wrote on his twitter account.

Paraunkh, the ancestral village of Ram Nath Kovind, burst into celebrations as soon as his victory over Meira Kumar was declared elected by Returning Officer and Lok Sabha Secretary General Anoop Mishra in New Delhi.

Kovind defeated his United Progressive Alliance (UPA) rival Meira Kumar by securing a total of 2,930 votes carrying a value of 7,02,044, while the former Lok Sabha Speaker could bag only 1,844 votes with a value of 3,67,314.

While the Chief Minister of West Bengal congratulated Ram Nath Kovind for being elected as President even before the official announcement. “Congratulations to Ram Nath Kovind Ji, who will be our next President,” she wrote.

Aam Aadmi Party leader Dr Kumar Vishwas posted a poem for Kovind

About the author

Shubham Jain