Counting for Votes of the Presidential election 2017 has begun in Parliament and NDA’s candidate Ram Nath Kovind is leading by more than 1 lakh vote after the counting of one-round, the lawmakers all-across the country cast their votes on July 17 to elect the next President of India, ruling alliance NDA’s candidate Ram Nath Kovind has a clear edge in the competition with Meira Kumar. The election saw the record of 99% voting. There would be eight rounds of counting and an announcement will be made after every round as the votes are being counted manually because the EVM was not used in the election. The final result is expected to come by the evening. Current President Pranab Mukherjee’s term will expire on July 25 and the new President will take the oath on the same day.

According to the officials, a total of 4,851 elected members Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and Legislative Assemblies have cast their votes in the elections, out of which 768 are the members of the parliament and 4,083 are the MLAs. It is believed that Ram Nath Kovind is going to become the next President of the country and only the margin of his victory s grabbing the attention of people in this election.


About the author

Shubham Jain