India Politics

Karnataka Elections 2018 Results, Yeddyurappa met Vajubhai Vala, JD(S)-Congress eyes on Governor’s decision

Karnataka Elections 2018 Results, Yeddyurappa met Vajubhai Vala, JD(S)-Congress eyes on Governor’s decision

The counting of votes for the Karnataka election 2018 has started. Not Only a few seats have made all the difference, BJP seized another State and continue their winning streak, without the regional party Janata Dal Secular (JDS) playing kingmaker. With the results wide open, three chief ministers from three parties are eyeing power – incumbent Siddaramaiah of the Congress, BS Yeddyurappa of the BJP and HD Kumaraswamy of the JDS. For Karnataka Elections 2018 LIVE result and updates, Connect with us or follow our live blog at

The triangular contest will see a fight between the Siddaramaiah-led Congress government, the BJP which has decided to BS Yeddyurappa as their chief ministerial candidate and the JD(S) which is likely to emerge as the kingmaker should the result end in a hung assembly. Voting, which took place on May 12, saw Karnataka’s highest voter turnout (72.13 percent) since the 1952 Assembly elections. Counting of votes will be held across 38 centres in 33 districts of the state.

Karnataka election Results 2018
Total (222/224)

Karnataka Elections 2018 LIVE Updates

5:00 PM IST- BJP Chief Ministerial Candidate is going to meet State Governer and will claim their challenge for making Government in Karnataka.

4:56 PM IST- A person tweet his opinion on his personal twitter Handle about making Government in Karnataka. He wrote, There are two things that are likely to happen in Karnataka: 1. BJP will form government today 2. BJP will form the government after few months.

4:30 PM IST- Governor Vajubhai Vala has told the Congress that he will await an official intimation about the election verdict from the election commission before deciding on the claims of any party.  The Congress and JDS combine currently have 114 seats between them. The BJP has 105 and there are three others including one candidate from the JDS ally BSP, one Independent allied to the Congress and one from a minor party the KPJY.

4:00 PM IST- JD(S) had always maintained that HD Kumaraswamy will be CM. As per results, we’re doing everything to keep BJP out of power. Congress has extended its support, we have accepted it. We will jointly go to meet Governor after 5.30 pm today: Janata Dal Secular Spokesperson, Danish Ali, said.

3:45 PM IST- The Congress has won 28 of the 222 seats polling for which was held, while it is leading in 49 others. The JD(S) has won seven constituencies and its candidates are ahead of their rivals in 31. If the number of seats the two parties have won and where they are leading is taken into account, they could together end up with 115 seats, three more than the magic figure of 112.

3:30 PM IST- We (Congress & JDS) are jointly meeting the Governor in the evening today: KC Venugopal, Congress

3:15 PM IST- We had a telephonic conversation with Deve Gowda Ji & Kumaraswamy. They have accepted our offer. Hopefully, we will be together: Ghulam Nabi Azad, Congress.

3:00 PM IST- UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi has had a word with JD(S) chief and former prime minister Deve Gowda indicating that an alliance government could be worked out. HD Kumaraswamy could be made Chief Minister with a Congress Dalit leader as deputy CM. Congress leaders claim the JD(S) has indicated its openness to this formula

1:45 PM IST- Others’ on the winning path, H Nagesh is the only Independent on the winning track, who is leading in Mulbagal constituency by 6,138 votes. R Shankar, son of M Ramachandra, of the Karnataka Pragnyavantha Janatha Party is leading in Ranibennur constituency by 4,338 votes.

1:15 PM IST-  We fought this campaign with a lot of confidence. I don’t see what we could have done differently,” said Sanjay Jha, Congress’ National Spokesperson. The leads, as the day progresses, is seeing some changes:

Congress: 76

BJP: 105

JD(S)+: 39

1:00 PM IST- BJP has won 12 seats so far and are leading in 94 others. Congress has bagged two seats and are leading in 71 others. Janata Dal (Secular) continues to lead in 40 seats. A candidate belonging to Karnataka Pragnyavantha Janatha Party (KPJP) is also leading along with an independent candidate, according to data from the Election Commission India.

9:55 AM IST- Winning the Karnataka elections would help boost the morale of the Congress. Karnataka is the only big state it rules apart from Punjab.  A defeat may further slow down the momentum for the party.

9:50 AM IST-  BJP, Congress reflect same vote shares across Karnataka at 38.9%: EC

BJP – 38.9%, 6,22,840 votes
INC – 38.9%, 6,22,435 votes
JD(S) – 15.9%, 2,53,789 votes
IND – 2.9%, 46,801 votes
BSP – 0.5%, 8,308 votes
AIMEP – 0.4%, 5,992 votes
SDPI – 0.3%, 4,374 votes
KPJP – 0.3%, 4,130 votes
CPM – 0.2%, 3,312 votes
NOTA – 0.8%, 13,439 votes

9:40 AM IST- Among the 49 Mumbai-Karnataka seats, the BJP is leading in 30 seats. Meanwhile, BS Yeddyurappa is leading in Shikaripura by 3,420 votes. Goni Malathesha of Congress is trailing behind.

9:35 AM IST- BSP Candidate Mahesh Colegal leading on his seat, Big relief for BSP Supremo Mayawati, who has made an Alliance in UP with the Samajwadi party.  

9:30 AM IST-  In Madikeri, JD(S) candidate BA Jivijaya leading with 1,782 votes. Four-time MLA and BJP candidate MP Appachu Ranjan secured 2,377 votes while Jivijaya secured 4,197 votes. In Virajpet, BJP candidate KG Bopaiah secured 4,218 votes while Congress candidate and former MLC Arun Machaiah secured 3,143 votes.

9:25 AM IST- BJP is close to making the Government in Karnataka. However, before 1 hour, Congress was leading on 50 seats.

9:20 AM IST- JD(S)’ GT Deve Gowda leads with 11,624 votes in Chamundeswari. After the fourth round of counting in Chamundeshwari, JD(S)’ GT Deve Gowda is currently leading with 11,624 votes.

9:00 AM IST- INC – 41.1%,1,59,081 votes
BJP – 40.7%,1,57,565 votes
JD(S) – 12.9%, 49,843 votes
IND – 2.5%, 9,835 votes
SDPI – 0.4%,1,659 votes
AIMEP – 0.4%,1,538 votes
CPM – 0.3%,1,197 votes
NOTA – 0.9%, 3,530 votes

8:45 AM IST- The BJP is marginally ahead of the Congress, as per early trends from counting of votes in Karnataka elections. The Siddaramaiah-led Congress is leading in 67 constituencies, BJP is ahead in 75 seats. JDS(+), which may emerge as the kingmaker is leading in 24 seats.

8:44 AM IST- BJP candidate B Sreeramulu is trailing in Badami Assembly constituency.

Parties and coalitions Popular vote Seats
Votes % Percentage point Contested Won Lead/Lag %
Indian National Congress 1,14,73,025 36.6  1.8 223 122 43 54.46
Janata Dal (Secular) 63,29,158 20.2  1.1 222 40 12 17.86
Bharatiya Janata Party 62,36,227 19.9 13.9 222 40 72 17.86
Karnataka Janata Paksha 30,69,207 9.8 9.8 204 6 6 2.68
Independents 23,13,386 7.4 0.5 1217 9 3 4.02
Badagara Shramika Raitala Congress 8,44,588 2.7 2.7 176 4 4 1.79
Samajwadi Party 1,05,948 0.3 0.6 27 1 1 0.45
Karnataka Makkala Paksha (KMP) 55,867 0.2 0.2 7 1 1 0.44
Sarvodaya Karnataka Paksha (SKP) 1,09,039 0.4 0.1 6 1 1 0.44
Other parties and candidates 8,16,009 2.6 644 0 Steady 0.0
Total 3,13,52,454 100.00 2948 224 ±0 100.0
Valid votes 3,13,52,454 99.91
Invalid votes 28,682 0.09
Votes cast / turnout 3,13,81,136 71.83
Abstentions 1,23,04,603 28.17
Registered voters 4,36,85,739

(Image Source- Elections Commission Of India)

8:30 AM IST-  JD(S) chief ministerial candidate and party chief HD Deve Gowda’s son, HD Kumaraswamy is currently leading in Ramanagara Assembly constituency.

8:26 AM IST- BJP candidate from Shiggaon, Basavaraj Bommai arrived at the counting centre in Have

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment