On this World Heritage Day pledge to preserve our heritage..!!

On this World Heritage Day pledge to preserve our heritage..!!

Heritage defines a nation in all ways. Today is World Heritage Day. In the year 1982, the International Council on monuments and sites that is ICOMOS,situated in France, announced April 18 as the World Heritage Day that was approved by the General Assembly of UNESCO in 1983. ICOMOS started this with the aim of enhancing awareness of the importance of the cultural heritage of humankind, and double the efforts to protect and conserve our heritage. Heritage can be defined as the events or processes that have a special meaning in group memory.

Many of us have this misconception that heritage means just the monuments. But we don’t know that there are many types of Heritage. The types of heritage are as follows:

1. National Heritage
2. Food Heritage
3. Cultural Heritage
4. Natural Heritage
5. Virtual Heritage

National heritage refers to the heritage having a value that has been registered by a governmental agency as being of national importance to the cultural heritage or history of that country.


Food heritage refers to a term that encompasses the origins of plants and animals and their dispersal, the sites where people first cultivated plants and domesticated animals, as well as the earliest locations around the world where people first processed, prepared, sold and ate foods. These locations include farms, all types of mill, dairies, orchards, vineyards, breweries, restaurants and cafes, markets and groceries, hotels and inns. Food museums help to preserve global and local food heritage.

Cultural heritage refers to is the legacy of physical science artifacts and intangible attributes of a group or society that are inherited from past generations, maintained in the present and bestowed for the benefit of future generations. Cultural heritage includes tangible culture (such as buildings, monuments, landscapes, books, works of art, and artifacts), intangible culture (such as folklore, traditions, language, and knowledge), and natural heritage (including culturally significant landscapes, and biodiversity).

Natural Heritage refers to the sum total of the elements of biodiversity, including flora and fauna and ecosystem types, together with associated geological structures and formations (geodiversity).
Heritage is that which is inherited from past generations, maintained in the present, and transferred to the future generations. The term natural heritage, derived from “natural inheritance”, pre-dates the term “biodiversity.

Now comes the virtual heritage. It is the body which deals with the information and communication technologies and their application to cultural heritage.

Lets talk about heritage being used in our Bollywodd industry. There are many movies which have been shot at heritage places like Red Fort, Qutab minar and many more. The movies which were shot at the heritage places are:

Bajrangi Bhaijaan
and more…

Amir Khan the famous Bollywood star recently promoted through an advertisement that we should preserve our monuments. Many couples visit these monuments and write their names with their loved partners which should not be done. Our nation is always known for how we preserve our monuments. So we should always try to preserve them.


About the author

Priyanka sarangi

Journalist by profession, music lover by passion. Love to write and edit content on different topics of entertainment beat. Love to travel but only with my favorite people.

Leave a Comment