Lipstick Under My Burkha in cinemas from 28 July

Lipstick Under My Burkha in cinemas from 28 July

Lipstick Under My Burkha the upcoming Hindi version movie is finally set to release on 28 July 2017. Lipstick Under My Burkha (Lipstick Waale Sapne) is an Indian film directed by Alankrita Shrivastava and produced by Prakash J. The film features Konkana Sen Sharma, Plabita Borthakur, Aahana Kumra and Ratna Patha in the lead along with Vikrant Massey, Sushant Singh, Vaibhav Tatwawaadi, Jagat Singh and Shashank Arora. This movie screened at the Mumbai Film Festival which was held from 20 to 27 and at the Tokyo Film Festival which held from 25 October to 3 November 2016. It won the Oxfam Award and the Spirit of Asia Prize for the Best film on Gender Equality in the screening.

Lipstick Under My Burkha is the story of a burqa-clad college girl, young beautician, mother of three and an ageing widow who trapped in their world to assert their personal and sexual rights. It revolves around the four Indian women aged up to 18 to 55 and based on their secret lives to fulfil their desires and to get freedom of life. It is set in the crowded lanes of the small town in India where these women claimed their desires through small acts of courage.

Although Earlier it was set to release in the month of January 2017, the central board of the film certification refused to certify the film because the story of this film is women oriented and their fantasy above life. It is consists of sexual scenes, abusive words, audio pornography and a bit sensitive touch about one particular section of society i.e., women section. Then the filmmakers appealed this decision from the Film Certification Appellate Tribunal (FCAT) which overruled the censor boards for granting the film theatrical release rights. FCAT asked the filmmakers to change or cut to some scenes mostly which are related to sex. Now, the film will be released with an “A” or adults certificate on 28 July 2017.

Lipstick Under My Burkha Cast and Crew

Directed by: Alankrita Shrivastava
Produced by: Prakash Jha
Cast: Konkona Sen Sharma, Aahana Kumra, Ratna Pathak, Plabita Borthakur, Vikrant Massey, Jagat Singh, Shashank Arora, Sushant Singh and Vaibhav Tatwawaadi
Language: Hindi
Release Date: 28 July 2017

About the author

Pallavi Parmar

Journalism is my profession, Blogging and Writing are my passion, Travelling is my love, Food is my life and Feminist by nature.