India Sports

Women’s Asia Cup 2018: Indian Women’s cricket team crushed Malaysia at 27 Runs

Women’s Asia Cup 2018: Indian Women’s cricket team crushed Malaysia at 27 Runs
Written by Abhishek Lohia

Indian Women’s cricket team bowled out Malaysia at just 27 runs in 3.4 overs and won the match by 142 runs. India has done a great start to the 2018 Women’s Asia Cup. In their first game, Opener Mithali Raj scored faboulas knock of 97* runs in just 67 balls including 13 boundaries and 1 six. With the help of short innings of Skipper Harmanpreet(32) and Deepti Sharma(18*) guided Team India to post 169 on the scoreboard. After this Indian Bowlers performed a great opening spell and bowled out Malaysia in just 3.4 overs. None of the Malaysian batsmen couldn’t score runs in two digits. Malaysian batsman Sasha Azmi was the highest scorer for Malaysia in this game, score 9 runs before he was run out by Shikha Pandey.

At first, Indian Skipper Harmanpreet Kaur won the toss and opted to bat first. Her decision became wrong when Team India lost inform batsmen Smriti Mandhana in their second over. After her departure, Batsman Mithali Raj built a partnership of 24 runs with Pooja Vastrakar, who has been out before 36 runs. Mithali showed her experience with skipper Harmanpreet Kaur and set a great partnership of 86 runs. In last death overs, Deepti Sharma’s 18 off just 12 balls guided Team India to set 169 in 20 overs.

By chasing the target, Malaysia lost their rhythm and lost their first five wickets at just 12 runs. Indian bowlers showcase their talent and all team out on just 27 runs. Pooja Vastrakar picked three wickets in her 3 over spell and conceded only 6 runs. Bowler Anuja Patil and Poonam Yadav got 2-2 wickets each. During the Malaysian team innings, none of the Malaysian batsman able to score in two digits, 6 out of 10 batsmen out on a duck while Skipper Winifred Duraisingam (c) scored 5 runs on 21 balls. 

For Asia Cup 2018, the Indian team has included Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj, Jemima Rodriguez, Deepti Sharma and Anuja Patil. Apart from this, Veda Krishnamurthy, Tania Bhatia, Jhulan Goswami, Pooja Wajarkar and Shikha Pandey have also been included in the team. Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gaikwad, Ekta Bisht and Mona Meshram are also part of the Indian team. It is the 7th season of Women’s Asia Cup and priorly Team India has won all the previous season of this prestigious tournament. Team India will now play against Thailand, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Pakistan on 4, 6, 7, and 9 June Respectively.

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment