West Indies vs Zimbabwe, ICC World Cup Qualifier 2018, big contest against unbeaten Zimbabwe

West Indies vs Zimbabwe, ICC World Cup Qualifier 2018, big contest against unbeaten Zimbabwe
Written by Abhishek Lohia

Two-time world champion West Indies are going to play their next game in ICC World Cup Qualifier vs Zimbabwe today at Harare Sports Club, Harare. The match is going to be a full-house contest on this ground because climax will be the outcome against unbeaten Zimbabwe. The Carrebian team, who lost their last game against Underdog Afganistan, will try to setback himself through this contest and also be on top at the points table. Zimbabwe is leading on the points table by winning two wins and one draw out of three, they have been undefeated since the start of this tournament. It is damn true that West Indies dominant head-to-head record against their hosts, having won 35 matches out of the 44 ODIs.

West Indies can’t afford another slip-up today, where a defeat would take qualification out of their hands. If they lose this game, they will face a must-win match against Scotland and expect other results go their way. On the other side, Zimbabwe will try to themselves remain unbeaten thus far in the qualifier.

Windies skipper Jason Holder has been playing a strong role for his team. He played a decisive role with bat or ball in almost every match so far. However, Chris Gayle and Evin Lewis spark as they have only on occasion thus far. Devendra Bishoo and Kemar Roach are also doing great with their bowling performance. While on the host’s side, Sikandar Raza is looking in a great form, and with Sean Williams’ return and Brendan Taylor in the runs, the hosts’ middle order is nothing to be sniffed at. For more updates and results get in touch with us

West Indies Squad:  Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Marlon Samuels, Shai Hope(w), Jason Holder(c), Rovman Powell, Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Nikita Miller, Jason Mohammed, Kesrick Williams, Devendra Bishoo, Kemar Roach

Zimbabwe: Cephas Zhuwawo, Solomon Mire, Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor(w), Sean Williams, Craig Ervine, Sikandar Raza, Graeme Cremer(c), Tendai Chisoro, Kyle Jarvis, Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chatara, Peter Moor, Richard Ngarava, Malcolm Waller

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment