Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018; Mandeep singh appointed as Punjab Captain

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018; Mandeep singh appointed as Punjab Captain
Written by Abhishek Lohia

Punjab’s team has been announced for India’s domestic one-day cricket tournament Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018. There have been some major changes seen in Punjab squad. Star spinner and last season captain Turbnator Harbhajan Singh has not been given to the team captaincy, while Yuvraj Singh is not selected as the captain despite being included in the team. This time the team’s command is given to right-handed batsman Mandeep Singh. It is worth mentioning that in the last domestic cricket season, the Punjab Cricket team was in the hands of Harbhajan Singh. Usually, in Harbhajan’s absence, this responsibility was in the hands of legendary Indian batsman Yuvraj Singh but this time Yuvi is included in the team but the captaincy is handed over to Mandeep Singh. Yuvraj is not also being elected as team’s vice-captain.  Gurkeerat Singh will take this charge in this season.

Harbhajan Singh has been out of the Indian cricket team for a long time. He last played Test and ODI in three years ago in 2015, when he played the last international T20 cricket in 2016. Even 36-year-old Yuvraj Singh has not been given the command of the team and it’s being predicted that he has the last chance to prove himself. Taking the captaincy pressure, Yuvi can once again claim to return to India after performing well.

Shubhman Gill and fellows have been included in Punjab Squad

In the 16-members squad, under-19 stars Subhman Gill, Abhishek Sharma, and Arshdeep Singh have also been selected in the Punjab squad. These three players were part of the Indian Under-19 World Cup 2018. Shubhaman Gill has played for the national team while Arshadeep and Abhishek are still waiting for a call from Team India.

Punjab’s fast bowling attack will be under the hands of Siddharth Kaul, who is currently in UAE. Manpreet Singh Gony and Barinder Saran have been given a place in the team to complete Kaul. While Sandeep Sharma has been kept out of the team.

Punjab Squad for Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018

Mandeep Singh (captain), Gurkeerat Singh (vice-captain), Shubhaman Gill, Manan Vohra, Anmolpreet Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Sharad Lumba, Gitanjali Khera (wicketkeeper), Sunvir Singh, Arpit Pannu, Mayank Markandey, Abhishek Sharma, Siddharth Kaul, Manpreet Singh Grewal, Barindar Saran, and Arshdeep Singh


About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment