India Sports

Suresh Raina joins Team India For England One-Day Series

Suresh Raina joins Team India For England One-Day Series
Written by Abhishek Lohia

Veteran Indian Batsman Suresh Raina returned to the Indian ODI team squad after more than two and a half years on Saturday. He has been included in the Indian ODI squad for the upcoming England tour. Rayadu had failed to get enough points in this new benchmark of fitness test(Yo-Yo Test), due to which he had to get out of the team. The National Selection Committee decided to replace Raina in the One-Day team. Raina played his last ODI on 25 October 2015 in Mumbai against South Africa. He was recently going in good form, in which he was selected in the team of T-20 Tri Series played in Sri Lanka before the IPL. Raina has so far scored 5568 runs in 223 one-day matches, including five centuries and 36 half-centuries.

The BCCI said in its statement, “All India Selection Committee has included Suresh Raina in place of Ambati Rayudu in the Indian ODI squad for the upcoming series against England, after failing in the fitness test of the NCA Bangalore on June 15. ” Rayudu’s failure in the Yo-Yo Test is unbelievable even when he scored 602 runs for the IPL champions Chennai Super Kings. He could achieve only 14 points in this test, whereas for qualifying 16.1 points were needed. In the England tour, the Indian team will play three ODIs, 5 Tests and 3 T2os. The first match will be played in Nottingham on July 12.

Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma will be present for the yo-yo test today. He had obtained permission from the BCCI to not participate in this test on 15th June. BCCI’s General Manager (Cricket Operations) Saba Karim said, “Rohit has been allowed to not be included in the BCCI due to personal engagement (as a brand ambassador of a watch company he is in Russia). There is no such rule that all players have to give a Yo-Yo test on the same day. He will be present for the test today (June 17). ”

The Indian squad for the tour of England is as follows: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Dinesh Karthik, Yuswendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sunder, Bhubaneswar Kumar, Jaspreet Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Siddharth Kaul, Umesh Yadav

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment