Shane Watson breaks all time record as CSK wins IPL 2018

Shane Watson breaks all time record as CSK wins IPL 2018

Chennai Super Kings lifted their third IPL Title after two years of the ban. Batsman Shane Watson smashed his fourth IPL Hundred and chased the mammoth total of 179 against the best bowling line-up consisted team Sunrisers Hyderabad. During his innings, Watson breaks his all-time record of scoring hundred in IPL Final ever. However, Watson took first 11 balls to open his account as Bhuvneshwar Kumar bowled a maiden over of the game. Batsman Suresh Raina was 15 runs short to complete his 5000 runs in IPL History ever. Ambati Rayadu scored the winning runs for his team. Now the Super Kings are the IPL Champions in 2018.

During his 117 runs innings, Watson smashed 8 massive sixes and 11 boundaries over Hyderabad bowlers. He smashed 3 sixes in Sandeep Sharma’s 4th over and got 26 runs in that over. It was the turning point of the game when Sandeep Sharma and Siddhartha Kaul conceded more than 97 runs in their 7 overs spell. Indian Swing pacer, Bhuvneshwar Kumar started pretty well and conceded 17 runs in his four-over spell.

At first Chennai Super Kings skipper, MS Dhoni won the toss and elected to bowl first against the Eliminator winner Sunrisers Hyderabad. CSK got the first breakthrough as Shreevats Goswami out during he was stealing run from Dhoni’s side. He got run out by Karn Sharma.  After his departure, Shikhar Dhawan and Kane Williamson built a strong partnership of 51 runs. At death overs, Yusuf Pathan played some big shots and scored 45 runs in just 25 balls which helps SRH to posted 178/6 in 20 overs.

By chasing the target of 179 at Wankhede Stadium, CSK Opening batsman Shane Watson and Du Plessis got a slow start from the duo. They have scored 20 runs in the first five overs. After the five Overs, it was only Watson’s show, who wins the heart of all Indian Cricket Fans at Wankhede Stadium. He dominated single handly and seized the third title for Chennai Super Kings. 

IPL Champions

RR in 2008
DC in 2009
CSK in 2010, 2011 & 2018
KKR in 2012 & 2014
MI in 2013, 2015 & 2017
SRH in 2016

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment