Sports

England wins by 87 runs against New Zealand to enter Champions Trophy 2017 Semifinal

England wins by 87 runs against New Zealand to enter Champions Trophy 2017 Semifinal
Written by Karu Cheema

England won by 87 runs after New Zealand were bowled out for 223 runs in 43.3 overs, while chasing a target of 311 runs to win. Kiwis struggled throughout the game , in both innings. They were unsuccessful in putting brakes on formidable total as bowling department lacked teeth.

12:017 PM IST | 6:45 PM BST ( NZ 223 all out chasing England’s 310)

Its Over , Tim Southee caught by Roy and on Plunkett bowling. Kiwis never looked in game and tremendous performance from England have earned them a SEMIFINAL berth.

11:02 PM IST | 5:32 PM BST ( NZ 156/2 in 30 Overs chasing England’s 310)

Williamson is OUT , thats it . Still quite a responsible innings from him. Taylor was supporting Williamson on other end. Kiwis might be little low on run rate, they have to play 20-20 kind of innings in rest of the overs and keep wickets.

10:05 PM IST | 4:35 PM BST ( NZ 69/2 in 16 Overs chasing England’s 310)

New Zealand wickets seem to tumble like pack of cards , with Williamson only staying at the crease.

7:00 PM IST | 2:30 PM BST ( 310 all out in 49.3 Overs )

England has achieved a very grand total of 310 and New Zealand will have to do a really hard job in chasing 311 to win the match.10:05 PM IST | 4:35 PM BST ( NZ 69/2 in 16 Overs chasing England’s 310)

6:45 PM IST | 2:15 PM BST ( 291/7 in 47 Overs )

1st inning score of 310+ looks imminent , Butler is pacing the innings well with 41 ball 52 runs

6:30 PM IST | 2:00 PM BST ( 260/7 in 44 Overs )

Rashid is out , leg before wicket by Satner. Asked for a review but did’nt turn out in his favor. Reaching 300 is a challenge for England.

6:18 PM IST | 1:48 PM BST ( 236/6 in 40.3 Overs )

Butler and Rashid are at the crease. Quick fall of wickets at regular intervals might nag England in second innings. 48 runs by stokes was a valuable contribution for England.

6:07 PM IST | 1:37 PM BST ( 217/5 in 39 Overs )

England is comfortably places but need flurry of good slog overs. Unfortunately Joe Root was bowled out by Anderson. What is happening to England ? 3 out of 5 batsmen were clean bowled by Kiwis.

4.42 PM IST | 12:10 PM BST ( 118/2 in 21.1 Overs )

Hales bowled by Milne , this is Milne’s second wicket. Joe Root and Hales brought England in a very comfortable position and 300+ score looked easy. Hales scored a dilligent 56 runs in 62 balls with 2 sixes and 3 fours.

Joe Root is 4 run short from his half century.

4:23 PM IST | 11.53 AM BST

England started cautiously after losing the toss against New Zeland, with latter choosing to field first. After 16 Overs , England scored 84 runs with loss of one wicket. JJ Roy was bowled by Milne during the 8th Over. Currently Alex Hales and Joe root are on the crease , with 46 and 24 runs respectively.

Hales and Root are looking all set , with an strike rate of above 90%. Both are taking quick singles and managing themselves with frequent boundaries.

Milne has been little expensive in his 2 overs , giving 15 runs , but was lucky enough to get JJ Roys wicket. Tim Southee is doing a decent job in restricting the economy rate and has conceded only 18 runs in his 5 wicket less overs. New zealand captain might have to take a quick decision for keeping him for slog overs.

About the author

Karu Cheema

In the depth of the world seeking opinions and lot more, I found my passion in these thoughts, The world is simple word bringing us profound touch locked in the world of words. Was born with soulful passion of becoming a writer, having seek this career is best side of me. I am looking forward to light up this world through the words that can touch everyone's mindfulness.