List of Arjuna Awards, Khel Ratna, Dronacharya Awards recommendations by national sports federations

List of Arjuna Awards, Khel Ratna, Dronacharya Awards recommendations by national sports federations

It was a good year for India in not only national sports but also international sports after a successful stint at Commonwealth Games in Gold Coast where the country won 66 medals including 26 gold, the third highest haul for India in the history of the tournament. India finished the 2018 Commonwealth Games third with 26 gold medals, 20 silver ones and 20 bronze medals. Now comes the time to honour the athletes for their hard work and success. Various sports bodies in India have submitted their nominations for the prestigious sports awards in the country – Khel Ratna, Arjuna Award, Dronacharya Award and Dhyan Chand Award. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna is the highest sporting honour for an Indian athlete. Arjuna Awards is an annual award given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, GOI(Government Of India) to recognise exceptional achievement in sports. Dronacharya Award is a sports coaching honour award while Dhyan Chand honour is awarded to those with the lifetime achievement in sports.

List of Dronacharya Award Recommendations for the year 2018:

Dronacharya Award

Coach BS Chauhan – Hockey
P.T. Usha – Athletics
Sanjay Garnaik – Athletics
G Sudhakar Reddy – Badminton
Vijay Sharma – Weightlifting
Shiv Singh -Boxing
Bhaskar Bhatt -Boxing
Sandhya Gurung – Boxing

Khel Ratna

Virat Kohli – Cricket
Neeraj Chopra – Athletics

Arjuna Award
Manpreet Singh – Hockey
Dharamvir Singh – Hockey
Savita – Hockey
Manika Batra – Table Tennis
Harmeet Desai – Table Tennis
Shikhar Dhawan – Cricket
Smriti Mandhana – Cricket
Neeraj Chopra – Athletics
Annu Rani – Athletics
Seema Antil – Athletics
Gaurav Gill – Motor Sports
N Sikki Reddy – Badminton
Shahzar Rizvi – Shooting
Shreyasi Singh – Shooting
Pooja Ghatkar – Shooting
Ankur Mittal – Shooting
Saikhom Mirabai Chanu – Weightlifting
Sanjita Chanu – Weightlifting
Venkat Rahul Ragala – Weightlifting
Ritu Phogat – Wrestling
Jyoti – Wrestling
Pawan Kumar – Wrestling
Vinod Omprakash – Wrestling
Sumit – Wrestling
Gaurav Bidhuri – Boxing
Sonia Lather – Boxing
Rohan Bopanna – Tennis
Yuki Bhambri – Tennis
Jeje Lalpekhlua -Football
Gurpreet Singh – Football

Dhyan Chand Award

Bobby Aloysius – Athletics
Kuldeep Singh Bhullar – Athletics
Jata Shankar – Athletics
Sunil Gavaskar- Cricket
T.P. Ouseph – Athletics

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment