Khel Ratna Award 2018; Virat Kohli and Mirabai Chanu recommended by Committee

Khel Ratna Award 2018; Virat Kohli and Mirabai Chanu recommended by Committee
Written by Abhishek Lohia

Indian Skipper Virat Kohli and weightlifter Meerabai Chanu are jointly recommended by the committee to the country’s biggest sports honor Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award on Monday, while Javelin throw’s star player Neeraj Chopra has been included in the list of 20 players, whose names have been recommended for Arjuna awards. Apart from Chopra for Arjun player award 2018, junior world champion Hima Das, Gold medalist Jinson Johnson, cricketer Smriti Mandhana, hockey player Manpreet Singh and Savita Poonia, Commonwealth Games gold medalist table tennis player Manika Batra And tennis star Rohan Bopanna, who won gold medal in doubles match in Asian Games has been nominated.

Khel Ratna Award 2018; Virat Kohli could get this honor in third time in his career

However, these recommendations are yet to get the consent of Indian Sports Minister Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore. Once it approved by him, President Ramnath Kovind will be given the prize in the Rashtrapati Bhavan on September 25. If Rathore admits the recommendation of the selection committee, Kohli will be the third cricketer of the country to receive the honor of Khel Ratna Award 2018. Earlier, the title was received by veteran batsman Sachin Tendulkar (1997) and former captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni (2007), who won the World Cup twice.

Three shooters including, Rahi Sarnobat, Ankur Mittal and Shreyasi Singh have got a place while two para players Ankur Dhama and Manoj Sarkar have also been recommended. Due to the Asian Games this year the award ceremony will be organized on September 25 on National Sports Day. The players who were selected for the Khel Ratna award 2018 will be awarded by a cash prize of Rs.5 lakh while the winner of Arjuna Award 2018 will get Rs.5 lakh as award money.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2018 Nominated Player list

Virat Kohli (Cricket), Meerabai Chanu (Weightlifting)

Arjuna Award 2018 Nominated Player list

Neeraj Chopra (athletics); Johnson Johnson (athletics), Hima Das (athletics); N Sikki Reddy (badminton); Satish Kumar (boxing); Smriti Mandhana (cricket); Shubhankar Sharma (golf); Manpreet Singh (hockey); Savita (hockey); Ravi Rathod (Polo); Rahi Sarnobat (shooting); Ankur Mittal (shooting); Shreyasi Singh (shooting); Manika Batra (table tennis); G Sothian (table tennis); Rohan Bopanna (tennis); Sumit (wrestling); Pooja kadia (wushu); Ankur Dhama (paragraph athletics); Manoj Sarkar Para-Badminton)

Virat Kohli record as a Captain

Kohli is among the select players who have won the Padma Shri Award (2017) before the Khel Ratna award. Kohli is considered a strong contender this year as the team defeated England and Australia in the domestic series under his leadership and defeated the West Indies and Sri Lanka on their soil. In his captaincy, the Indian team won the ODI series in South Africa. He was part of the ICC World Cup in 2011 and the Indian team that won the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013.

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment