IPL 2018 Purple Cap Live Updates for more wickets: Great Fatal-5-way for Mayank Markande among four pacers, Kaul remains same

IPL 2018 Purple Cap Live Updates for more wickets: Great Fatal-5-way for Mayank Markande among four pacers, Kaul remains same
Written by Abhishek Lohia

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s bowling sensation Siddharth Kaul and Mumbai Indians’spinner Mayank Markande strengthened his hold over the Purple Cap. Delhi Daredevils’ lightning fast pacer Trent Boult, Indian All-rounder Hardik Pandya, Umesh Yadav are also in the race by getting equal wickets in IPL 2018. Afghan spinner Rashid Khan has been in a great form this season, and it has been trying to reflect the Purple Cap standings by picking 10 wickets so far. Pacer Andrew Tye is also presenting a tough challenge for rest bowlers and is currently at No.8 position by taking 9 wickets. Mumbai Indians celeb Krunal-Hardik is at No 1o position in bowling list, have been picked 8-8 wickets each so far.

The top-10 bowlers in IPL 2018 are Hardik Pandya (11 Wickets)Umesh Yadav (11 Wickets), Mayank Markande(11 Wickets), Jasprit Bumrah, Andrew tye, and Mitchell McClenaghan(Each player has got 9-9 Wickets each). For more Live updates of Purple cap, read our article daily or you can get more updates on 

Orange Cap IPL 2018: Most Runs

Players and Team Matches Wicket Economy
Siddharth Kaul (SRH) 8 11 6.87
Mayank Markande (MI) 8 11 7.73
Umesh Yadav (RCB) 8 11 8.34
Hardik Pandya (MI) 7 11 8.74
Trent Boult (DD) 8 11 9.18
Rashid Khan (SRH) 8 10 7.25
Jasprit Bumrah (MI) 8 9 7.00
Andrew Tye (KXIP) 7 9 7.78
Mitchell McClenaghan (MI) 6 9 8.66
Krunal Pandya (MI) 8 8 7.04

The Purple Cap is an annual cricket award presented to the leading wicket-taker in the Indian Premier League. Indian Premier League announced the introduction of the Purple Cap on 13 May 2008. The bowler with most wickets in the tournament during the season would wear the Purple Cap while fielding, with the overall leading wicket-taker at the end of the tournament winning the actual Purple Cap award on the day of the season’s final. In case of a tie, the bowler with superior economy rate would hold the Purple Cap.

Previous Winners

Season Player Mat Wkts Team
2008 Pakistan Sohail Tanvir 11 22 (RR)
2009 India R. P. Singh 16 23 (DC)
2010 India Pragyan Ojha 16 21  (DC)
2011 Sri Lanka Lasith Malinga 16 28  (MI)
2012 South Africa Morne Morkel 16 25 (DD)
2013 Trinidad and Tobago Dwayne Bravo 18 32 (CSK)
2014 India Mohit Sharma 16 23  (CSK)
2015 Trinidad and Tobago Dwayne Bravo 16 26  (CSK)
2016 India Bhuvneshwar Kumar 17 23  (SRH)
2017 India Bhuvneshwar Kumar 14 26 (SRH)


About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment