IPL 2018 Orange Cap Live Updates for more runs: Dhoni comes in top-5 batsmen, Rayadu remains at top

IPL 2018 Orange Cap Live Updates for more runs: Dhoni comes in top-5 batsmen, Rayadu remains at top

Chennai Super Kings’new batting sensation Ambati Rayudu strengthened his hold over the Orange Cap from RCB Skipper Virat Kohli by scoring 41 runs against Delhi Daredevils in Pune. Indian top batsman Virat Kohli, who scored 32 runs against defending champion Mumbai Indians, rests second on the most run-scoring list with 349 runs from an equal number of innings but Rayudu has been in a great form this season, and it has reflected in the Orange Cap standings. SRH skipper Kane Williamson, who is always in rich form this, has translated his runs into wins for his side and leading Sunrisers in a great manner. He has scored 322 runs from eight matches so far to stand third on this list. Veteran and all-time favourite CSK captain MS Dhoni entered the top-five with a powerful 51 run knock against DD in Match 30. CSK captain raises his run-scoring tally to 286 runs. For Orange cap Live updates, read our article daily or you can get more updates on 

The top-ten leading run-scorer batsmen in IPL 2018 are Rishabh Pant (306 runs), MS Dhoni (286 runs), AB de Villiers (280 runs), Sanju Samson (279 runs), Suryakumar Yadav (283 runs), KL Rahul (268 runs) and Chris Gayle (252 runs) 

Orange Cap IPL 2018: Most Runs

Players and Team Matches Runs HS
Ambati Rayudu (CSK) 8 370 82
Virat Kohli (RCB) 8 349 92*
Kane Williamson 8 322 84
Rishabh Pant (DD) 8 306 85
MS Dhoni (CSK) 8 286 79*
Suryakumar Yadav (MI) 8 283 72*
Shane Watson (CSK) 8 281 106*
Ab De Villiers (RCB) 6 280 90*
Sanju Samson (RR) 7 279 92
KL Rahul (KXIP) 7 268 60

The Orange Cap is an annual IPL cricket award, given to the leading run scorer in a single season of Indian Premier League. During the tournament, the top batsman gets the honour to wear this cap while on the field and the top-scorer at the end of the season wins an award. Last year, SRH’s David Warner had won the Orange Cap for being the highest run-getter in the tournament, with a total of 641 runs from 14 innings at an average of 58.27.

Previous Winners

Season Player Name Mat Runs Team
2008 Australia Shaun Marsh 11 616  (KXIP)
2009 Australia Matthew Hayden 12 572   (CSK)
2010 India Sachin Tendulkar 15 618    (MI)
2011 Jamaica Chris Gayle 12 608  (RCB)
2012 Jamaica Chris Gayle 15 733  (RCB)
2013 Australia Michael Hussey 16 733  (CSK)
2014 India Robin Uthappa 16 660 (KKR)
2015 Australia David Warner 14 562 (SRH)
2016 India Virat Kohli 16 973 (RCB)
2017 Australia David Warner 14 641 (SRH)


About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment