IPL 2018: between Dhawan and Williamson, Who will be the new captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad?

IPL 2018: between Dhawan and Williamson, Who will be the new captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad?
Written by Abhishek Lohia

Australia’s legendary cricketer David Warner, who has been accused of ball-tampering, has resigned as the captain of the Sunrisers Hyderabad for the IPL 2018 season. After the ball tampering case was revealed, Warner was under tremendous pressure to leave the captaincy of SRH. Warner’s resignation was given in the tweet released by Sunrise. Team CEO In the tweet of Shanmugam, it has been told that given the recent ball-tampering developments, Warner has left the captaincy of SRH. The new captain of the team will be announced soon. Shikhar Dhawan is considered to be the frontrunner in the captaincy race after Warner has stepped down as captain. It is not yet confirmed that who will be the next captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad? The captaincy contest is going to be between Shikhar Dhawan and New Zealand Skipper Kane Williamson. Let’s find out the track record of both these players.

Shikhar Dhawan– 32-years-old Indian open Shikhar Dhawan is the top contender for the Captaincy of Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2018. He has played 127 matches in IPL and scored 3561 runs in these matches with a strike rate of 121.86. In previous IPL season, Dhawan scored 479 runs in 14 matches and gave an excellent contribution to his team. The left-hand opening batsman Dhawan played for the Delhi Daredevils in IPL 2008 and was their third-highest run-getter with 340 runs in 14 matches with an average of 37.77. After this, he turned out for the Mumbai Indians for two seasons. Dhawan had a great IPL season of IPL, totalling 569 runs from 15 matches.

Kane Williamson– The second contender for Hyderabad captaincy is New Zealand Skipper Kane Willaimson, who is presently leading NZ against England team. Williamson has not a great record in IPL as a comparison to Shikhar Dhawan, not the regular player for Sunrisers Hyderabad. Williamson played seven matches in previous IPL and scored 256 runs with a strike rate of 129.34. Williamson consistency in test cricket made him the leading contender for the Captaincy of SRH, has scored 5316 runs in test cricket with a batting average of 50+. Williamson is the only cricketer after Steve Smith and Joe Root, who has compared with Virat Kohli.

Manish Pandey– Last, but not the least, Manish Pandey is the name who is known for his extra-beneficial efforts for his team. However, he is struggling. To confirm his place in Indian National team. But whenever he got a chance to prove himself, he did it so. Pandey has scored 2215 runs in 103 IPL matches with a strike rate of 120.12. Pandey has also scored a century in IPL 2009 against Hyderabad Deccan Chargers.

So, these are the top three contenders for the captaincy of Sunrsers Hyderabad in IPL 2018. However, CEO K.Shanmugam already tweeted about the captaincy on the official twitter account of Sunrisers Hyderabad. With these records and performance-based analysis, it is tough to predict who will be the new captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad. If Shikhar Dhawan appoints as a captain of SRH Then it will be the first time in IPL history when all eight franchise’s captains are Indian.

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment