Indian Cricket Team Coach: Kohli got his men, Ravi Shastri as head coach

Indian Cricket Team Coach: Kohli got his men, Ravi Shastri as head coach
Written by Shubham Jain

Ravi Shastri has been named as the new coach of the Indian Cricket Team. He had been Director of the Indian Cricket Team in the year of August 2014 to April 2016, under his tenure, Indian Cricket Team had done very well in all formats of the game. He had applied for the post of coach last year as well in June 2016 after his tenure as the director of the team director was completed, but Anil Kumble was selected as the coach of Indian Team over him then by the panel which included President of West Bengal Cricket Sourav Ganguly, former Indian Cricketers Sachin Tendulkar and VVS Laxman.

Because of which Sastri had not applied for the post initially, but after the BCCI extended the deadline of accepting the applications to July 9, he also joined the list of  current coach of Afghanistan Cricket Team, Lalchand Rajput, West Indies cricket direcor Richard Pybus, former Indian opener Virender Sehwag and IPL franchise SRH coach Tom Moody.

Shastri will serve as the head coach of Indian Team until the end of ICC World Cup 2019 to happen in England and Wales. Interestingly, the former Indian all-rounder began his term as Indian Team director with the tour of England in 2014. Earlier, Anil Kumble stepped down as the head coach of Indian Cricket Team after having some issues with the captain of Indian Team, Virat Kohli before the champions trophy. Things went very early between both of them when Virat Kohli left the practice session as Anil Kumble came out of the dressing room. The former spinner even mentioned that “the captain had reservations with his style of coaching the team,” in his letter in which he declared about his resignation on Twitter.

It has been acknowledged that Ravi Shastri and Captain Virat Kohli, both shares a very good understanding between them. It was Ravi Shastri who had big hand in the appointment of Virat Kohli as the captain of Test team after the retirement of former Test captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni from the test cricket.

About the author

Shubham Jain