India Sports

India A vs England Lions 1st ODI; Match Preview and Latest Updates

India A vs England Lions 1st ODI; Match Preview and Latest Updates
Written by Abhishek Lohia

India A vs England Lions match will be played at County Ground, Derby at 3 PM IST. Indian young talent and Delhi Daredevils Captain Shreyas Iyer will lead the Indian streak, while 31-years-old Steven Mullaney will present the challenge in front of him. India A has Prithvi Shaw, who scored a fabulous hundred in the previous game against England A, Rishabh Pant, Shubhman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, and Ishan Kishan. While England Lions have Chris Jordan, who is the regular player of the England National Team and also have some big names likes Reece Topley and Liam Dawson. 

Mullaney, who was named as Nottinghamshire captain during the wintertime, will lead the Lions for the opening time after impressing during the North-South Series in Barbados in March. “As a captain, It’s a great honour for me to be here,” said the 31-year-old Lancastrian. “I really enjoyed my captaincy experience in the North-South Series, and for that to lead on to leading the Lions is massive, and something I’m really looking forward to.

Rishabh Pant & Prithvi Shaw could open the innings and have looked in great touch in the previous practice games. While Deepak Chahar could swing the ball as we saw his tremendous performance in the IPL 2018. He is likely to open the bowling attack for India A. 

In this tri-series, West Indies A is also a vital part of this series. WI A is being led by test player Jason Mohammed. They have Rahkeem Cornwall and Jomel Worrican, who damaged the Lions in three consecutive four-day matches on home soil earlier this year.

West Indies A squad: Jason Mohammed (captain), Sunil Ambris, Jermaine Blackwood, Rahkeem Cornwall, Dominic Drakes, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Chemar Holder, Andre McCarthy, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Raymon Reifer, Devon Thomas, Oshane Thomas, Jomel Warrican.

England Lions Squad: Nick Gubbins, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Liam Livingstone, Ben Foakes(w), Steven Mullaney(c), Liam Dawson, Matthew Parkinson, Tom Helm, Chris Jordan, Reece Topley, Matthew Fisher, Sam Hain

India A Squad: Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant(w), Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer(c), Krunal Pandya, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar, K Khaleel Ahmed, Prasidh Krishna, G H Vihari, Ishan Kishan, Vijay Shankar, Krishnappa Gowtham, Shardul Thakur

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment