India vs England 2nd T20 Match; Men in Blue are one step closer to historic series win

India vs England 2nd T20 Match; Men in Blue are one step closer to historic series win
Written by Abhishek Lohia

The second match of the ongoing T20 series between India and England will be played on today. The Indian team, who won the first match, will be aiming to make the historic series win and registered it to their name by defeating England with a scare in the match. In the first match, Kuldeep Yadav took five wickets for 24 runs, while KL Rahul scored a thriving century. India showed the finest all-rounder game, by defeating the hosts by eight wickets. The Indian team is on the threshold of winning the sixth consecutive series in T20 cricket. India has not missed any single bilateral T20 series since 2017.

If India wins the series by 2-0 then the difference will be reduced from the second place in the Latest ICC rankings, while winning with 3-0 will move them to second place after Pakistan. On the other hand, to stop India from doing so, Australia need to win in the next two matches of the ongoing tri-series in Zimbabwe. If England loses on the other hand, then New Zealand will come in seventh place after South Africa, and West Indies. England has won only five of the last 10 T20 matches.

The biggest worry for English batsmen is- Kuldeep Yadav. After being defeated in the first match, skipper Eoin Morgan and batsman Jos Buttler appealed to their players to exercise restraint on the crease and watch the ball carefully. However, England’s symposium had captured the fastest attack, which is a concern for India. Both Umesh Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar failed in Old Taipard match. But still, in this game Indian team will not be in the mood to make playing XI changes. Yuzvendra Chahal can be retained in the team despite being proved expensive in last game.

India : Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, K L Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzwendra Sahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Krishanal Pandya, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Hardik Pandya, Siddharth Kaul, Umesh Yadav.

England : Ian Morgan (captain), Moin Ali, Janie Bairsta, Jacques Baal, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jasen Roy, David Wiley, David Malan

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment