India announced Sardara Singh as a Captain for Azlan Shah Cup 2018

India announced Sardara Singh as a Captain for Azlan Shah Cup 2018
Written by Abhishek Lohia

The prestigious tournament Sultan Azlan Shah Cup will be started on 3 March 2018 and India announced Sardara Singh as a Captain for India in Azlan Shah Cup 2018. Selectors also featured three debut players Mandeep Mor, Sumit Kumar and Shilanand Lakra while experienced goalkeeper PR Sreejesh and Captain Mandeep Singh have been rested. India will start his journey in this tournament by playing against Argentina on 3rd March. This tournament comprises of World No 1 Australia, Argentina, India, Malaysia, England and Ireland. Head coach Marijne said. “This is a chance for them to show their capability in the international level and ensure their place in the squad for future tournaments,”

Ramandeep Singh will play the role of vice-Captain just like the New Zealand Tour. Sardara Singh will be played at Mid-field position along with SK Uthappa, Sumit, Nilakanta Sharma and Simranjeet Singh. While Varun Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Dipsan Tirkey, Surender Kumar and newcomers Mandeep Mor and Nilam Sanjeep Xess will guard the Indian Defence. Gurjant Singh, Ramandeep Singh (VC), Talwinder Singh, Sumit Kumar, Shilanand Lakra will be played on forwards. This is the 27th Edition of this tournament and extremely important for those players who are making their debut through this match. The tournament is a big opportunity for youngsters to gain experience against high-level teams like Australia and Argentina. It is a right time to show their capability and ensure their place for the upcoming tournaments like Commonwealth games and Hockey World Cup.

Indian Squad for Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2018

India announced the 18-member India team for the 27th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup. The full list of Indian Squad is here: Goalkeepers: Suraj Karkera, Krishan B Pathak, Defenders: Amit Rohidas, Dipsan Tirkey, Varun Kumar, Surender Kumar, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Mandeep Mor, Midfielders: SK Uthappa, Sardar Singh (c), Sumit Nilakanta Sharma, Simranjeet Singh Forwards: Gurjant Singh, Ramandeep Singh (VC), Talwinder Singh, Sumit Kumar, Shilanand Lakra

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia is a Sports and Political Writer at Newsfolo. He has been working as a Journalist for 2 years and has previously worked at Sportsflu, Sportscafe, and some other Digital Channels. He covers the ruling BJP Government, civic bodies, and Indian politics. He also covers latest Sports News and Live Coverage. He is a graduate in Electrical Engineering from IPEC College, Sahibabad. He can be reached at; [email protected], you can also follow him on twitter @chiraglohia2

Leave a Comment