ICC Awards: Virat Kohli named the Cricketer of the Year 2017

ICC Awards: Virat Kohli named the Cricketer of the Year 2017

Virat Kohli was the big winner at the ICC awards, as he was awarded the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for being the World Cricketer of the Year 2017. He had an exceptional 2017, for which he was further rewarded with ICC ODI cricketer of the year 2017 and the captain of both ICC Test and ODI teams. Virat had previously won the honor of the Cricketer of the year in 2012, when he was just 24 years old. The record of the star cricketer was great, as evidenced by the parameters through which the recipient of the award is selected, that is looking at his performance between, September 21, 2016 to December 31, 2017, Virat scored 2,203 Test runs at an average of 77.80. Moreover, the star cricketer also score eight centuries in the time, which also include the staggering, record breaking  5 double 100s. Rohit Sharma was given the honor of best captain of the year, he too, became the first cricketer to slam three centuries against the Sri Lankan team.

Yuzvendra Chahal was honored for his exceptionalin performance in T20 and recieved the ICC T20I Performance of the Year, because of great six wickets in match against England, that took place in Bengaluru.

This is a very good achievement for the Indian cricketers, and even when seeing their recent defeat against the South African team, this will be a great encouragement for the players to perform well in the future matches.

About the author

Abhishek Rana

Since my early childhood, I’ve loved writing, watching movies and having an opinion. Now, I do it professionally. Always looking for new ways to challenge myself.

Leave a Comment