Hockey India announced list for national camp ahead of Sultan Azlan Shah Cup

Hockey India announced list for national camp ahead of Sultan Azlan Shah Cup
Written by Abhishek Lohia

Hockey India announced the 33 members list for a national camp ahead of the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup. Hockey India published this list of Friday 9 February 2018. The prestigious 27th Sultan Azlan Shah cup 2018 is going to start on March 3. After the end of this tournament, Gold Coast Commonwealth Games will begin from April 4. So this year is very crucial for the men’s team because two major events are coming. The year 2018 is a busy schedule a for men’s hockey team because in August team India will look to defend his Gold Medal in Asian Games. This is a golden chance for Team India to qualify for the 2020 Olympic games.

Previously Team India tested its younger players in New Zealand, where four of them made their International Debut and tasted their victories against Japan and Host New Zealand. This year India will play against some tough competitors at FIH Champions trophy in Breda and World cup in Bhubaneshwar.

Azlan Shah Cup 2018

In Azlan Shah Cup, Team India will play against some top nations like; Australia, Argentina, and England. These teams are also grouped with India at the Commonwealth Games. The next two days Coach Sjored Marjine will be evaluating the performance of Players in Bengaluru’s National camp. Two-weeks are remaining in the Azlan Shah Cup and Team India will start their practice from Sunday and will gain some other knowledge about their oppositions playing styles.

Team For National Camp 2018

Goalkeepers: P.R. Sreejesh, Krishan B Pathak, Akash Anil Chikte, Suraj Karkera,

Defenders:  Varun Kumar, Rupinderpal Singh, Birendra Lakra, Harmanpreet Singh, Amit Rohidas, Dipsan Tirkey, Surender Kumar, Gurinder Singh, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Sardar Singh

Midfielders: Simranjeet Singh, Chinglensana Singh, SK Uthappa, Manpreet Singh, Nilakanta Sharma,  Sumit, Kothajit Singh, Satbir Singh,  Harjeet Singh

Forwards: SV Sunil, Lalit Upadhyay, Gurjant Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Armaan Qureshi, Affan Yousuf, Talwinder Singh, Sumit Kumar.

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment