Day when Adam Gilchrist hits the fastest double century, memory re-visited

Day when Adam Gilchrist hits the fastest double century, memory re-visited

Today is 24 February, and this day is remembered as a day when Adam Gilchrist hits the fastest Double century in test cricket history. Although this record could not exist for a long time interval because Nathon Astle broke it just after 13 days of setting it against England. The former legendary player from New Zealand Nathan Astle broke this record by smashing fastest double-century in test cricket in just 153 balls. In 2002, Team Australia was going to play three-match test series against South Africa. Steve Waugh was leading the Australian team while Mark Boucher was captaining the South Africa team. The former wicket-keeper batsman Adam-Gilchrist played 212 balls to complete his first double-century in test cricket.

How did it happen?

At first, Australian captain Steve Waugh won the toss and elected to bat first. Opening batsman Mathew Hayden scored a fantastic century and built a strong partnership with Ricky Pointing and Skipper Steve Waugh. Batsman Daniel Martin also contributes his century and set a big score at Johannesburg. Wicket-keeper Adam Gilchrist came at no. 7 and spent 293 minutes on the crease. In 293 minutes he destroyed the strong bowling line-up of South Africa. To complete his first double-century, Gilchrist faced 212 balls and smashed 19 faboulas fours and eight elegant sixes. The result of this was Australia win by an innings and 360 runs. Fast-Bowler Glenn McGrath picked eight-wickets in this match.

Gilchrist who is also known for her orthodox wicketkeeping shows why he is being counted in a high-class batsman category. Some other batsmen who are on the list of scoring fastest double-century in test cricket history are–

Balls Batsman Match Location Year
153 NJ Astle New Zealand v England Christchurch 2001-02
163 BA Stokes England v South Africa Cape Town 2015-16
168 V Sehwag India v Sri Lanka Mumbai 2009-10
182 V Sehwag India v Pakistan Lahore 2005-06
186 BB McCullum Pakistan v New Zealand Sharjah 2014-15
194 V Sehwag India v South Africa Chennai 2008
211 HH Gibbs South Africa v Pakistan Cape Town 2002-03
212 AC Gilchrist Australia v South Africa Johannesburg 2001-02
220 IT Botham England v India The Oval 1982
222 V Sehwag India v Pakistan Multan 2003-04
227 V Sehwag India v Sri Lanka Galle 2008
229 PA de Silva Sri Lanka v Bangladesh Colombo (PSS) 2002

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment