India Sports

BCCI announces cash price for Indian Women’s Cricket Team ahead of the finals

BCCI announces cash price for Indian Women’s Cricket Team ahead of the finals
Written by Shubham Jain

The Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) have announced a cash award of 50 lakh rupees to each player of Indian Women’s Cricket Team for their performance on the eve of finals of the Women’s World Cup against England at the Lord’s in London. BCCI has also announced Rs 25 lakh each for the support staff of the team.

Aiming for their maiden Women’s World Cup crown, India rode on all-rounder Harmanpreet Kaur’s breezy 115-ball unbeaten 171 to knock Australia out by 36 runs in the semi-final at Derby on Thursday.

Announcing the cash awards the board’s acting Secretary Amitabh Choudhary said: “The BCCI would like to announce a cash prize of Rs 50 lakh to each member of the squad and Rs 25 lakh to each member of the support staff. We wish them the best as they prepare for their biggest match tomorrow at the Lord’s Cricket Ground.”

Hailing the performance of the side, BCCI’s Committee of Administrators (CoA) chief Vinod Rai said: “I would like to congratulate the Indian women’s cricket team for their exemplary show in the ICC Women’s World Cup.”

“The team has shown tremendous character and the girls have raised the bar with each passing game under the able leadership of Mithali Raj. The women’s World Cup has been widely followed across India and this team’s spirit and performance on the field has won admirers all over the world. I am sure this team has inspired the next generation of cricketers and many more girls will take up the sport in the years to come.”

Acting President C.K. Khanna said: “The BCCI acknowledges the performance of the Indian women’s cricket team that has qualified for the final of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017.”

“The team has a good blend of young talent and experienced campaigners in captain Mithali Raj and Jhulan Goswami. The all-round performance was on display in the semi-final against Australia women, who have won the World Cup six times. The fearless batting of Harmanpreet Kaur mirrors the team’s approach under pressure,” Khanna added.

This is the Indian women’s team’s second entry in a World Cup final, having lost to Australia in their first attempt in 2005 at Centurion.

About the author

Shubham Jain