Batsman KL Rahul smashed second T20Is Century, levels Rohit Sharma’s record

Batsman KL Rahul smashed second T20Is Century, levels Rohit Sharma’s record

Indian batsman Lokesh Rahul smashed the second century of his carrier in T20I Cricket and become the second Indian to achieve this feat. In the first T20 game against England, 26-years-old young Indian Talented batsman leveled the record of Rahul Sharma who had scored the century against Sri Lanka and South Africa. Rahul carried his form from IPL to INTL cricket and scored 100* runs and boosted team India very well to take a lead of 1-0 against the hosts England. During this innings, Rahul smashed 5 sixes and 10 magnificent boundaries to complete his second ton. Chris Gayle, Aaron Finch, Brendon McCullum, Mahela Jayawardene, Rohit Sharma, Colin Munro, Evin Lewis and Martin Guptill are the only batsmen to score a T20I century on more than one time while New Zealand fast-tracker Munro is the only batsman in the world to reach this landmark thrice.

India beat England by 8 wickets and took an early lead of 1-0 against hosts. The English bowlers failed to stop Rahul at this moment and conceded more runs across the whole ground. Yes, it was Rahul’s day as he survived when he was dropped at the score of 85. Rahul made his debut T20I hundred against the West Indies in the 2015 India Tour of West Indies. However, India tasted defeat at that time because of Ewin Lewis’ ton underweighted his magnificent innings at the Carribean soil. Rahul made his T20 debut in 2016 by playing against Zimbabwe at Harare Sports Club, Zimbabwe.

In this game Skipper, Virat Kohli also completed his 2000 runs in INTL Cricket and become the fourth batsman to reach this mark. kohli registered his name in the list with Shoaib Malik, Brendon McCullum, and Chris Gayle. 

T20i Most Centuries / Hundreds
Player Span 100 Mat Runs HS
C Munro (NZ) 2012-18 3 43 1087 109*
MJ Guptill (NZ) 2009-18 2 73 2188 105
CH Gayle (WI) 2006-17 2 51 1537 117
BB McCullum (NZ) 2005-15 2 71 2140 123
E Lewis (WI) 2016-17 2 14 468 125*
RG Sharma (Ind) 2007-17 2 70 1620 118
GJ Maxwell (Aus) 2012-18 2 40 982 145*
AJ Finch (Aus) 2011-18 2 39 1530 172
Lokesh Rahul (Ind) 2016-2018 2 16 570 104*

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment