2011 World Cup, Day when India lift the trophy after 28 years

Written by Abhishek Lohia

India lifts the world cup after 28 years,” When Commentator Ravi Shastri spoked this words, the entire nation started celebrating this happiness and joyful movement. It was 2 April 2011 and place was Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. India was looking in big trouble after losing Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag at 31 runs. It was a big chase of 273 runs and opposition was Sri Lanka. Team Sri Lanka had some legendary stars Dilshan, Sangakkara, Jayawardene and Malinga. After beating Pakistan in Semi-final, India was considered the top contender of 2011 World Cup Winner. Indian opener Gautam Gambhir showed a fantastic show of 97 runs and guided his team to near the total. Skipper MS Dhoni scored 91* and won the World Cup for his team, for his nation, for himself after 28 years of 1983 win.

At first Sri Lankan skipper, Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and elected to bat first on the batting surface pitch. Sri Lanka lost their first wicket early when Upul Tharanga caught by Virender Sehwag on first slip. Legend player Jayawardene scored fantastic 103* runs and dominated Indian bowlers after they are set back in the game. Jayawardene scored thirteen faboulas boundaries and out his team from trouble. Sri Lanka was struggling at 182/5 in 39.5 overs, and from there Jayawardene led the team.

In a covetous opening spell, left-arm-pacer Zaheer Khan conceded just the six runs in five overs with dismissing the ghosts of his nervous first spell in the 2003 World Cup final. Khan conceded 60 runs in his ten over spell and got two wickets. After losing the fourth wicket of Kohli, Dhoni had something else in mind as he decided to come up the order ahead of Yuvraj Singh. Dhoni built a partnership of 54 runs with the man of the tournament star Yuvraj Singh and lifted the World Cup. Legendary Sachin Tendulkar, who won the World Cup in his sixth attempt called it the proudest moment of his life.


About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment