India Politics

Indira Gandhi vs Atal Bihari Vajpayee; No-confidence motion

Indira Gandhi vs Atal Bihari Vajpayee; No-confidence motion

The opposition has presented the No Confidence Motion in front of the Modi government on Friday. According to parliamentary data, this kind of non-confidence motion presented against the government after 15 years. Earlier, the previous government of NDA faced it in 2003. At that time, Congress President Sonia Gandhi had submitted an unbelief proposal against the Atal Bihari Vajpayee Government but the opposition faces a tight defeat. Even earlier, despite the Vajpayee government’s non-confidence motion in 1998, the government lost only by one vote. Though Atal Bihari Vajpayee, while in the opposition, had presented two no-confidence motion. He presented this kind of the first proposal against Indira Gandhi and the second Narasimha Rao government. In our parliamentary history, 26 percent of the non-confidence motion has been presented so far.

What is the no-confidence motion

According to Article 75 (3) of the Constitution, the Council of Ministers is collectively responsible for the Lok Sabha. In this case, in the elected House (Lok Sabha), it can remain in power only if the government has a majority. So the system of testing its validity has been done in the Lok Sabha manually. Under this, if any member of Parliament gets the support of 50 MPs, then no-confidence motion can be presented against the government. There is a provision to discuss this proposal within 10 days of approval of this proposal. If this does not happen, the proposal is considered to be a failure. Voting occurs after discussion on the motion of no confidence. During that time, if the government fails to prove majority, then the government falls.

First no-confidence Motion challenge

There was no such proposal in the first two Lok Sabha. It came in parliamentary history in 1963. During that time, Acharya JB Kriplani had submitted a no-confidence motion against the Jawaharlal Nehru Government. In his favor, 62 votes while 347 votes were counted in his opposite. So there was no effect on the government’s strength.

Most no-confidence motion against Indira Gandhi

More than 15 times the no-confidence motion was presented against the Indira Gandhi Government. After that, such proposals were presented three-three times against the leaders of Lal Bahadur Shastri and Narasimha Rao respectively. In 1993, Narasimha Rao succeeded in saving his government with a very marginal difference.

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment