BJP’s Davesh Moudgil Elected as the new Mayor of Chandigarh today.

BJP’s Davesh Moudgil Elected as the new Mayor of Chandigarh today.
Written by Ria Maheshwari

BJP member, Davesh Moudgil has been appointed as the new mayor of Chandigarh today, after collecting twenty-two (22) votes out of twenty-seven(27). In the Chandigarh Municipal Corporation Mayoral Elections 2018, Gurpreet Dhillon and Vinod Aggarwal have been appointed as the Senior Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayor respectively.

Right after the elections, Davesh Moudgil took the blessings from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MP Kirron Kher, the ex-officio member and took charge of the chair as the new Mayor. Where on the other side, the Congress member, Devinder Singh Babla received only five(5) votes in the elections.
The process of the mayor election goes very simple. The total of twenty-seven(27) votes was to be cast, among which twenty-two (22) were received by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)’s member, Davesh Moudgil, and the remaining five (5) were received by Congress team leader, Devinder Singh Babla. Davesh Moudgil will be the 22nd mayor of the Chandigarh Municipal Corporation, with 22 votes against the rival Davinder Singh Babla, Congress. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)’s rebel and outgoing mayor, Ravi Kant Sharma and Asha Kumari Jaswal, had filed their nomination independently, but after the agreement, they withdrawal their names yesterday from the race of mayor. Also, as per sources, Davesh Moudgil has close terms with the BJP MP Satya Pal Jain.
Kirron Kher seems extremely happy with the result. As she shared the pictures with the new mayor, Davesh Moudgil on her twitter handle and congratulated him.

About the author

Ria Maheshwari

Leave a Comment