India Sports

Virat Kohli and Mirabai Chanu awarded by Khel Ratna 2018

Virat Kohli and Mirabai Chanu awarded by Khel Ratna 2018

Indian cricket team captain Virat Kohli and women weightlifter Meerabai Chanu are jointly honored with the country’s biggest sports honor Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award. In the program organized at Rashtrapati Bhavan, President Ramnath Kovind has honored these two players. Rs. Seven lakh for the players selected for the Khel Ratna Award and the prize money of Rs. 5 lakhs has been awarded to the winners of the Arjuna Award. Last year, the award was given to players Sardar Singh and para-athlete Devendra Jhajaria. Today, Kohli was present with his mother and wife-actress Anushka Sharma at the ceremony. Virat Kohli has become the third such cricketer who has been awarded by Khel Ratna. Earlier, the title was received by veteran batsman Sachin Tendulkar (1997) and former captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni (2007), who won the World Cup twice.

Arjuna Award Winners 2018

The players who received the Arjuna Awards 2018 include women cricketer Smriti Mandhana, Sprinter Hima Das, Javelin Thrower player Neeraj Chopra and table tennis player Manika Batra. Apart from this, President Kovind also awarded Indian Hockey player Manpreet Singh, Savita Punia, runner Jenson Johnson, badminton player N. Sikki Reddy, boxer Satish Kumar, golf player Shubhankar Sharma, polo player Ravi Rathore, shooter Rahi Sarnobat, Ankur Mittal, Shreyasi Singh, Table tennis player. Sajiyan, Manika Batra, tennis star Rohan Bopanna, wrestler Sumit and Wushu player Pooja Kadyan.

Dronacharya Award Winners 2018

Among the recipients of the Dronacharya award by Kovind, boxing coach Chenanda Aiyya Kuttappa, Vijay Sharma, A.Srinivas Rao (Tete) and Sukhdev Singh (athletics), Vijay Sharma (weightlifter), VR Bidu (athletics), Tarak Sinha (cricket) , Clarence Lobo (hockey), Jeevan Kumar Sharma (judo).

In this function, the President Ramnath Kovind honored Satyadev Prasad (Archery), former Indian captain Bharat Kumar Chhetri (hockey), Bobby Elliosius (athletics), former wrestler Chougule Datu Dattatre, with Dhyanchand award 2018. Apart from this, Indian Mountaineering Dr. Anshu Jamsenpa awarded by the Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award.


About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment