Three new ministers inducted in Karnataka

The Karnataka cabinet was expanded with three lawmakers of the ruling Congress being inducted as ministers here on Friday.

Governor Vajubhai R. Vala administered the oath of office and secrecy to H.M. Revanna and R.B. Thimmapur as cabinet ministers and Gita Mahadeva Prasad as Minister of State (Independent Charge).

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, some cabinet ministers, lawmakers and senior officials, including Chief Secretary Subash Chandra Kuntia were present on the occasion.

All the three members took oath in Kannada. While Revanna and Thimmapur as members of the legislative council, Prasad is in the assembly.

“Portfolios of the new ministers will be allocated soon,” an official of the Chief Minister’s Office told IANS.

Revanna and Thimmapur were ministers in the S.M. Krishna government (1999-2004), while Prasad is widow of Cooperative Minister H.S. Mahadeva Prasad, who died on January 3. She was elected from the Gundlupet assembly segment in the bypoll.

The cabinet expansion is the third in the over four-year-old government.

About the author


IANS, also known as Indo-Asian News Service is a private news agency. IANS covers topics related to politics, entertainment, sports, general and world news etc.