India Politics

NSUI, ABVP share glory in DUSU elections

The Congress’ student wing, the NSUI, on Wednesday bagged the posts of President and Vice President in the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) while the RSS-affiliated ABVP won the posts of Secretary and Joint Secretary.

Officials had earlier said the NSUI bagged three seats.

Rocky Tuseed is the new DUSU President and Kunal Sehrawat the Vice President, both from the National Students Union of India.

ABVP’s Mahamedhaa Nagar and Uma Shankar won the posts of Secretary and Joint Secretary respectively.

Tuseed, who polled 16,299 votes, defeated ABVP’s Rajat Chaudhary by 1,590 votes. Sehrawat, with 16,431 votes, scraped past Parth Rana by just 175 votes. Nagar polled 17,156 votes to win by 2,624 votes while Shankar got 16,691 votes winning by 342 votes.

Asked about the low margin of his victory, Vice President-elect Sehrawat told IANS: “A win is a win. The margin of victory doesn’t matter.”

The NSUI has sought a recount of votes for the Joint Secretary’s post.

Last year, the Akhil Bharatiya Vidhyarthi Parishad (ABVP) won three seats while the Joint Secretary was claimed by the NSUI.

The DUSU election took place on Tuesday. The CPI-ML-backed All India Students Association also contested.

About the author


IANS, also known as Indo-Asian News Service is a private news agency. IANS covers topics related to politics, entertainment, sports, general and world news etc.