India Politics

Nitish Kumar is the face of NDA in Bihar, Says Sushil Modi

Nitish Kumar is the face of NDA in Bihar, Says Sushil Modi
Written by Abhishek Lohia

On the issue of the role of JDU’s ‘big brother’ in the NDA all, Bihar’s political got into limelight on Monday. Senior BJP leader and NDA constituent, Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi said that the 17-year-old BJP-JDU has had a true friendship and the face of the NDA in Bihar is Chief Minister Nitish Kumar. At the same time, the main leader of JDU form another constituent also stayed on the statement of the party’s “big brother”. Senior leader and energy minister Bijender Prasad Yadav said that JD (U) is like “big brother” in Bihar, while BJP is the same in Delhi. Selection of seats should be done on this base only. Sushil Modi further said,”The government of double engine(BJP+JDU) will demand public support for both the PM-CM’s face in Bihar. There will be no difficulty in coordinating the seats in 2019 Elections”.

JDU national general secretary KC Tyagi said that the question of JD (U)’s separation from the NDA is not raised anymore. Our aim is to win more and more seats from Bihar in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. There is no question of going back with the RJD or Congress again. We had left RJD on the issue of corruption, now where has the talk of going with them again? Will we settle down with those who are locked in jail?

NDA constituents parties are concerned after they got defeat in the bypoll-elections in Bihar. Recently Jokihat defeat in the bypolls is the major concern for the NDA Alliance. Earlier, the JD (U) and the BJP alliance lost the Araria seat also. RJD won this seat. Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Modi said that elections will break opposition as they are dreaming of a crack in the NDA.

2014 Bihar Stats

Except for JDU, the BJP, LJP, and RLSP had done well in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. BJP contested on 29 seats, out of which 22 won. LJP contested on 7 and won on 6 while RLSP contested on four seats and won 3 of them. Accordingly, in 2014, the NDA alliance booked 32 seats in their account. JDU contested alone and won 2 out of 40 seats. This time Jitan Ram Manjhi’s led ‘Hum’ has been separated from the NDA government and later they joined RJD.

The seat sharing issue of 40 seats in 2019 seems to be stuck. If LJP and RLSP continue their streak, then 11 seats will go into their account. In this way, 29 seats will be divided between BJP and JDU. The BJP and JDU will have to share the seats.

Status of 40 Lok Sabha Seats in Bihar, 22 with BJP

Party Seats (As per 2014 Lok Sabha Elections)
BJP 22
LJP 06
RJD 04
Congress 02
JDU 02
Others 01

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment