Modi cabinet reshuffle on Sunday

A reshuffle of the union council of ministers headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi will take place on Sunday morning.

Sources said the reshuffle and expansion of the cabinet will take place at 10 a.m. on Sunday.

Ahead of the reshuffle, Minister of State for Skill Development Rajeev Pratap Rudy had on Thursday night resigned from the Union Council of Ministers, while several others are believed to have offered to resign.

Union Ministers Uma Bharati, Radha Mohan Singh, Giriraj Singh, Kalraj Mishra, Nirmala Sitharaman, Mahendra Nath Pandey, Faggan Singh Kulaste and Sanjiv Baliyan have offered to quit to pave way for the Cabinet reshuffle, BJP sources said.

The reshuffle is the third by Modi since coming to power in May 2014.

About the author


IANS, also known as Indo-Asian News Service is a private news agency. IANS covers topics related to politics, entertainment, sports, general and world news etc.