India Politics

Maharashtra Legislative Council Elections 2018; Shiv Sena vs BJP Once again

Maharashtra Legislative Council Elections 2018; Shiv Sena vs BJP Once again
Written by Abhishek Lohia

In Maharashtra, ruling alliance partners BJP and Shivsena are going to face each other once again in the 2018 Vidhan Parishad elections after the Palghar Lok Sabha by-election. The elections will be held on June 25 for the upper house of the Legislature. These Elections will be for Mumbai Bachelors, Mumbai Teachers, Konkan Graduates and Nashik Teachers Association seats. A total of 71 candidates are contesting for these four seats. The ruling alliance is face to face in Konkan and Mumbai seat. In the Konkan Graduate Seat, BJP’s DavKhare will contest against Shiv Sena’s Sanjay More while the NCP has fielded Najib Mullah, who is supporting by Congress and other same ideology parties.

Shiv Sena’s Vilas Potnis will fight against BJP’s Amit Mehta on the graduation seat. Congress and NCP have supported the Independent candidate Rajendra Korde. Lok Bharti’s party Jalinder Salode is also in the fray from this seat. The Shiv Sena’s Shivaji Shendge is contesting the Mumbai Teacher’s seat against the current legislative councilor Kapil Patil (Lok Bharti Party). Patil is enjoying the support from the Congress and the NCP, while the BJP is supporting its independent candidate Anil Deshmukh. BJP’s Aniket Patil is contesting from Nashik Teacher’s seat against 23 independent candidates. NCP has given its own support to independent candidate Sandeep Bedse.

Current member Deepak Sawant (Shivsena – Mumbai graduate), Kapil Patil (Lok Bharti Party – Mumbai teacher), Niranjan Dawkhare (coming from NCP to BJP – Konkan graduate) and Apurva Heere (Independent – Nasik Teacher) term will end on July 7, 2018. This election is being considered as important because Shiv Sena refused to give the state health minister Deepak Sawant a ticket from the Mumbai graduate seat. He has been a lawmaker twice from this seat. Apart from this, the Konkan graduation seat will also be closely watched as the Legislative Councilor Niranjan Dawkhare left the NCP last month and joined the ruling party BJP.


About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment