India Politics

Gorakhpur by-poll elections 2018 Updates, Gorakhpur records 45% voting till 3 pm, Phulpur 26.6%

Gorakhpur by-poll elections 2018 Updates, Gorakhpur records 45% voting till 3 pm, Phulpur 26.6%

Live updates of Gorakhpur and Phulpur bypoll Loksabha election, are here. After a high-voltage campaign and Alliance of Congress, BSP, and SP, now the stage is set for voting in Uttar Pradesh’s Phulpur and Gorakhpur parliamentary constituencies. Total Ten candidates are in the fight from Gorakhpur, while 22 candidates are contesting from Phulpur. Apart from the Provincial Armed Constabulary (PAC) and home guards, 65 companies of central paramilitary forces have been deployed to ensure peaceful bypolls.The result of these bypolls election will be declared on March 14. These elections are being viewed as a “warm-up” for the 2019 general elections. The bypolls in the constituencies were required after Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and deputy chief minister Keshav Prasad Maurya left the Gorakhpur and Phulpur seats, following their election to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council.

The ruling BJP will try to retain both the seats and register a win with a more significant edge.BJP has fielded Kaushalendra Singh Patel from Phulpur and Upendra Dutt Shukla from Gorakhpur against the SP’s Pravin Nishad and Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel individually. The Congress is going it single in both the seats.

LIVE Updates of Gorakhpur, Phulpur bypoll election

Samajwadi Party alleged that EVM has hacked, and elections should be repeated again.

3:00 pm IST– Polling percentage till 3 pm Phulpur 26.2%, Gorakhpur 45.20%

2:30 pm IST– Upendra Shukla from the ruling BJP,  Surhita Chatterjee Kareem from Congress, Praveen Nishad from SP, are contesting from the Gorakhpur. In Phulpur, Kaushalendra Singh Patel from the BJP, Nagendra Singh Patel from SP, Manish Mishra from Congress are in the fray. Mafia-turned-politician Atiq Ahmad, who won from Phulpur in 2004, is contesting as an Independent.

1:30 pm IST– Polling percentage till 1 pm Phulpur 19.2%, Gorakhpur 30.20%

12:00 pm IST– Election office sources said nearly 20 percent of the electorate cast their ballots by mid-day and the exercise was going on peacefully.

11:00 am IST– Uttar Pradesh Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya is confident that the BJP will sweep Lok Sabha bypolls 2018. He said that the 2014 Lok Sabha record would be repeated by the saffron party. “I am confident that on March 14, the record which was made in Phulpur in 2014 (Lok Sabha general elections) will be repeated, and our candidate Kaushalendra Patel will emerge victoriously,” he told reporters

10:20 am IST– Former mayor of Gorakhpur Dr Satya Pandya casts vote along with husband

10:00 am IST– The Election Commission had said that there 19.61 lakh voters in Phulpur parliamentary constituency, while there are 19.49 lakh voters in Gorakhpur.

9:45 am IST– The people would not vote for the “opportunistic” alliance of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Samajwadi Party (SP), who have set aside their rivalry to join hands in the bypoll for Gorakhpur and Phulpur constituencies,” the CM Yogi Adityanath told media persons outside a polling booth.

9:20 am IST– Uttar Pradesh Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya and his family cast vote at a polling station in Phulpur. The bye-elections in Phulpur were necessitated after Maurya vacated the constituency following his election to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council.

8:50 am IST– Nitish Kumar vs Tejaswi Yadav action has started in Bihar also. Total 11% voting has been recorded till 9 am.

8:40 am IST– Bypolls to Araria Lok Sabha seat and Jehanabad and Bhabhua Assembly seats in Bihar has also started. It will be the first major test for Chief Minister Nitish Kumar since walking out of the Grand Alliance last year. The key challenge for NDA will be to wrest Araria Lok Sabha seat from RJD, whose candidate Mohammed Taslimuddin defeated BJP’s sitting MP Pradeep Kumar Singh in 2014. Araria had been with NDA since 1996. The contest is mainly between the late RJD MP’s son Sarfaraz Alam and BJP’s Pradip Singh.

8:30 am IST– Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath casts his vote for #GorakhpurByPoll at a polling station, says ‘For development and good governance, BJP is necessary.’

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment