India Politics

Karnataka Elections 2018 Result, JD(S), Congress gear up for Protest outside Raj Bhavan

Karnataka Elections 2018 Result, JD(S), Congress gear up for Protest outside Raj Bhavan

Amid celebrations outside Raj Bhavan, senior Congress leaders, including Ghulam Nabi Azad, Siddaramaiah, and Ashok Gehlot arrive at Vidhan Soudha to protest against B S Yeddyurappa’s swearing-in as 23rd chief minister of Karnataka. JD(S) leaders joined the protest after a few minutes. Governor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath to B.S. Yeddyurappa on Thursday even as none of the council of ministers were sworn in. In a rare pre-dawn hearing, Supreme Court refused to stop BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa’s swearing-in as Karnataka Chief Minister. The honourable Supreme court has posted the matter for hearing on Friday.

The Supreme court has asked that the letter given by Yeddyurappa and senior BJP leaders to the Governor Vajubhai in which it was stated that the party has the needed number of MLAs to form the government be produced before the court. During the overnight hearing by the three-judge bench, including justices A K Sikri, SA Bobde and Ashok Bhushan, the letter of support from the majority of MLAs submitted to the state governor for forming the government. The Supreme Court said that it couldn’t overturn the decision of the Governor without seeing on what basis the BJP had claimed to have the numbers. Supreme court made it clear that it won’t stay the swearing-in but it would be subject to the outcome of the petition in the court on Friday.

The Congress-JDS Alliance had moved the Supreme court on Yesterday night, seeking a stay on the swearing-in, calling it unconstitutional. It debated that the Governor should have invited first the majority post-poll coalition of JDS-Congress. The 15-day Majority window has been given to BJP to prove its majority; the court refused to modify it, for now.

Government formation in Karnataka has been an uncertain affair with the Karnataka Assembly election 2018 throwing up a hung Assembly, giving 104 seats to the BJP, 78 seats to the Congress and 37 seats to the JD(S). The Congress has dramatically given support to the JD(S) for chief ministership, and both parties are likely to parade their MLAs before Governor Vajubhai Vala today morning.

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment