India Politics

Karnataka Elections 2018- I will win by big margins, says Yeddyurappa

Karnataka Elections 2018- I will win by big margins, says Yeddyurappa
Written by Abhishek Lohia

In the assembly elections in Karnataka, the Bharatiya Janata Party and Congress candidates are claiming their victory. BJP’s Chief Ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa claimed his victory in the elections on Thursday. Before enrolling in the Shikarpur assembly of Shimoga, Yeddyurappa said, “I will win by a difference of 30-40 thousand votes, and all the communities are getting support from us”. BJP President Amit Shah, who has come to create the probability of BJP’s victory in Karnataka, has said that to stop Yeddyurappa from becoming chief minister, Siddaramaiah has played the role of declaring Lingayats a minority.

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah took this step with the aim of minimising the BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa, not because of the love of the Lingayat community. BJP’s biggest leader in the state, Former Chief Minister Yeddyurappa comes from Lingayat community. Just before the assembly elections, the Congress government of the country has given Lingayat and Veershiva Lingayat communities religious minority status.

In a conference, Shah said, “We are very clear to the people of Karnataka that if BJP won the election, then Yeddyurappa would be the Chief Minister of the state.” He said that the Congress-led central government rejected the state government’s proposal for granting minority status to Lingayats in 2013. Now the Chief Minister of Congress, Siddaramaiah is making confusion by sending this proposal back to the Center.

Yeddyurappa filed the nomination papers a day after BJP chief Amit Shah urged cheering crowds to call at least 50 people each and persuade them to vote for his party in the May 12 Karnataka assembly polls. Shah was accompanied by Yeddyurappa, union minister Sadananda Gowda and party’s Hoskote candidate Sharath Bachche Gowda for the roadshow. Before the elections in the state, it is considered to be very important to meet Amit Shah to Shukumar Swami.

BJP has been campaigning actively for the upcoming elections in the state. It has already declared names of 154 candidates in its two lists so far. Of the 154 names of candidates announced in the two lists by BJP on April 8 and on April 16, 111 candidates had contested assembly elections in 2013. As per the election affidavits submitted by candidates in the past elections and analysed by Association for Democratic Reforms and Karnataka Election Watch, 30 BJP candidates have criminal cases listed against them.

About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment