India Politics

“Rahul Gandhi Should Lead 2019 Alliance”: HD Kumaraswamy After thumping Bypoll Win

“Rahul Gandhi Should Lead 2019 Alliance”: HD Kumaraswamy After thumping Bypoll Win

New Delhi: In Karnataka, the results of the stringent contestants in the Karnataka Assembly voted strongly in support of the ruling Janata Dal (Secular) and the Congress alliance. Coalition candidates have won both the Assembly seats on Tuesday and also won two of the three Lok Sabha seats. Prior to the Lok Sabha elections in 2019, the main opposition party is a big setback for the BJP which has lost the Bellary Lok Sabha seat in this bypolls. Bellary seat is considered as a stronghold of the controversial mining mafia-Reddy brothers. Congress candidate VS Ugarappa won this seat with the margin of 2,43,161 votes. He defeated J. Shanta of BJP, the main ally of the Reddy brothers and the sister of former MP B Sriramulu before this seat.

Karnataka bypolls results

BJP candidate Raghavendra has won the Shimoga seat. At the same time, from the Ramanagaram assembly seat, Chief Minister Kumaraswamy’s wife Anita Kumaraswamy and Jamkhandi assembly constituency have been won by the Congress’s Anand election.

In Karnataka, three Lok Sabha seats, Shimoga, Bellary (AJJA) and Mandya and two assembly seats, Ramanagaram and Jamkhandi, on an average, 67% of the votes were recorded on Saturday. Out of these, 63.85 percent voting was cast in Bellary (Ajja), 53.93 percent in Mandya, 61.05 percent in Shimoga, 81.58 percent in Ramnagaram and 73.71 percent in Jamkhandi seat.

The Karnataka by-election is not only important for the BJP but also its a must winning stake for the Congress-JDS. The results of the Lok Sabha seats, Shivamogga, Bellary and Mandya and assembly seats of Jamkhandi and Ramnagar are a matter of status for the ruling Congress-JD (S) alliance and for the BJP.

In the Shimoga Lok Sabha constituency, the son of former Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa, Bai Raghavendra is in the fray, while Anitha Kumaraswamy, wife of Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy, is trying out luck from Ramnagaram assembly seat.

There are 17 candidates in three Lok Sabha constituencies and 14 in the two assembly seats, but the fight is mainly between the ruling Congress-JDS alliance and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the state.

Karnataka bypoll results LIVE and Latest Updates

11:30 AM IST- Deve Gowda says: “I thank people of Karnataka for supporting development-centric administration of JDS-INC Government. People of the state have given their response to those who were trying to destabilise the state Government.”

11:oo AM IST- INC’s AS Nyamagouda leads by 32933 votes in Jamkhandi. JDS’s Anitha Kumaraswamy leads by 65990 votes in Ramanagaram, BJP’s BY Raghavendra leads by 32563 votes in Shimoga, INC’s VS Ugrappa leads by 151060 votes in Bellary & JDS LR Shivaramegowda leads by 76952 votes in Mandya

10:45 AM IST-

JAMKHANDI INC 42,446 BJP 25,930














10:30 AM IST- After the counting of 6 rounds from the Bellary Lok Sabha seat, VS Ugharappa of Congress is leading the J. Shant of BJP with 1,00,723 votes.

10:20 AM IST- JDS leads by 1,09,066 votes over BJP in the MandyaBellary parliamentary seat: VS Ugrappa of Congress leading over BJP’s J Shantha by 1,00,723 votes after counting of votes for Round 6.Shimoga parliamentary seat: BJP’s BY Raghavendra leads over JD(S)’s S Madhubangarappa by 2627 votes in the 3rd round of countingMandya parliamentary seat: JD(S) leading by 1,09,066 votes over BJP after counting of votes in round 5.

9:30 AM IST- Anitha Kumaraswamy maintains leadJamkhandi assembly seat: Anand Siddu Nyamagouda of Congress leads over BJP’s Kulkarni Shrikant Subrao by 7,149 votes in 4 rounds.Ramanagaram assembly seat: JDS’s Anitha Kumaraswamy leads over BJP’s L. Chandrashekhar by 14,813 votes in 3 rounds.Shimoga parliamentary seat: JP’s BY Raghavendra leading over S Madhubangarappa of JDS by 3,906 votes in the 1st round of counting.Bellary parliamentary seat: VS Ugrappa of Congress leading over BJP’s J Shantha by 45,808 votes after counting of votes for Round 3.



About the author

Abhishek Lohia

Abhishek Lohia was a Sports and Political Writer working for Newsfolo and is no longer associated with the organization.

Leave a Comment